Match Preview Coppa Italia

Coppa Italia Final: Lazio v Juventus Match Preview and Scouting

May 19, 2015 - 9:02 pm

juventuslazio

Juventus v Lazio

Coppa Italia– Final [Wednesday, 20th May – 19:45 GMT] –  Stadio Olimpico


juventus

Juventus

It’s been twenty years since the last time Juventus won Coppa Italia: honestly, we’ve been stuck to nine trophies, with the agonizing thought of Roma getting to ten first, for way too long. It’s time for that to be corrected. And what a better way to do than against the defending champions, led by that irksome Claudio Lotito?

In that timespan, Juventus have reached the final three times but have been defeated by Parma, Lazio and Napoli. Truth be told, Coppa Italia has never been the main target, but this year it could be part of amazing accomplishment (that I’m not even going to name). Along the way, Juventus eliminated Hellas Verona, Parma and Fiorentina, with that statement win on the road that testified how much Juventus wanted to get it done this year.

It has been reported that the president Andrea Agnelli himself gave the squad a little pep talk before the trip, stating that this game, and not the Champions League final, is the number one goal right now; he even showed them a video of Lotito making an insulting joke about Giuseppe Marotta. It’s safe to say that Andrea still hold a grudge against Lotito after the political fiasco of the election of the FIGC president last summer.

Unfortunately, Alvaro Morata and Claudio Marchisio are suspended for the final and this could lead to a tactical change. Allegri is pondering about going back to 3-5-2, keeping Roberto Pereyra on the bench initially. Besides having a stouter defense, 3-5-2 would allow to have more juice from the bench: let’s not forget that this can go to overtime. If the coach preferred his usual diamond scheme, the Argentinian midfielder would start behind Tevez and Llorente. Stefano Sturaro could be a surprise starter.

Marco Storari will probably start because he’s been the “cup” goalkeeper for this season, and really in every season. I don’t necessarily agree with this because facing a final without the leadership of Gianluigi Buffon on the pitch is pretty crazy, but that’s a thing coaches tend to do (Stefano Pioli will do the same). It’s seem that this is where we are headed.

Everybody else is available besides Romulo, who got re-injured in the Inter game, and Martin Caceres. It’s a big game for Llorente as it’s no secret that he could be available on the market this summer, if everything goes well for Juventus (meaning that they’ll be able to get another big time striker after securing Paulo Dybala). I love the guy, his enthusiasm and his contribution on and off the field so I hope he’ll have a very good match and maybe score a game-winner. It’s true that he’s been a tough fit in Allegri’s open and freelancing offensive schemes, but games of this magnitude are often won with a cheap goal. Moreover, it’s should not be forgotten that everybody is playing to start in the biggest game of the season.

In the two Serie A games, Juventus handily took care of business with a 0-3 win on the road (but it was still a primordial version of this year’s Lazio) and 2-0 at home.

Probable lineup:

3-5-2: Storari; Barzagli, Bonucci, Chiellini; Lichtsteiner, Vidal, Pirlo, Pogba, Evra; Llorente, Tevez.

Injured players:

Romulo (thigh), Caceres (ankle).

Suspended players:

Morata, Marchisio.

 

 

lazio

Lazio

Lazio have been impressive in their journey to the final, as they have sunk Torino, Milan and Napoli. They have won the competition six times and they are looking to repeat. Even though the stadium will be equally divided, they are still playing at home. In Serie A, they are going mano a mano with Roma for the second place and they have to fend off Napoli to retain a Champions League spot. They’ll actually face both in the final two games so this period couldn’t be any more crucial for them. Expect them to be locked in.

However, it’s not that they are slumping, but they have peaked early and now they are trying to stay afloat with the residual energies. The current Lazio is not the best version we’ve seen this season, which was the one that one eight straight games (a winning streak broke by Juventus) riding Felipe Anderson’s incredible form. But it’s still pretty good and they are getting healthy.

Lucas Biglia is trying to make a miraculous comeback: I’m skeptical as he has been diagnosed with a torn LCL last week, but it is reported that he’s already working on the pitch. They have recovered Santiago Gentiletti, Stefan de Vrij, Senad Lulic and Filip Djordjevic: only fringe players like Cana and Ederson remain sidelined. Pioli has called up the whole squad.

They didn’t have time to rest many starters against Sampdoria, but they did spared Stefano Mauri. However, it’s not a lock that he’ll start. Stefano Pioli is preparing his moves in top-secret training sessions and there could a surprise like the three-man defense, which he briefly used in the final part of the Sampdoria game. At that point, the defensive live would probably be De Vrij-Gentinelli-Radu, with Lulic as LWB, Parolo and Cataldi in the midfield and Candreva and Anderson/Mauri behind Klose.

Gentiletti started and scored after being sidelined for eight months with an ACL tear: he might not be considered ready to play twice in a row, he even had to leave the pitch on Saturday because he was cramping up. Mauricio is a solid defender, even though he has funny moments sometimes. Dusan Basta and Stefan Radu have been reliable all year long, while De Vrij has been mostly rock-solid after learning it the hard way in the first matches.

The main doubt is about the tactic: Lazio play the best football with 4-2-3-1, but Pioli may want one more body in the midfield to match up better, as he did the last time he faced Juventus. If he opted for a three-man formation, cup-specialist Senad Lulic, Marco Parolo, simply one of the best midfielders this season, and the veteran Cristian Ledesma will form the midfield. If Biglia was ready, he’d start for Ledesma, but that’s a big question mark.

At that point, the big doubt would be whom to bench among the “big three” Mauri, Antonio Candreva and Felipe Anderson. Don’t be shocked if the Brazilian ace, who hasn’t scored in the last six games, didn’t start. On the other hand, with 4-2-3-1, Danilo Cataldi would have a better chance to get the call, with both Ledesma and Lulic on the bench.

In any case, Lazio will field a lineup full of playmakers and well-rounded players. They are very good in counter-attacking (Sampdoria players actually held Anderson’s jersey a couple times while he was away from the ball to prevent him from going full speed towards their box, smart tactic) and on the flanks. They have excellent shooters and free-kick takers. They can score in multiple ways and they have veteran leadership. Basically, they have total package. But so do Juventus.

Probable lineup:

4-3-3: Berisha; Basta, Mauricio, De Vrij, Radu; Parolo, Ledesma, Lulic; Candreva, Klose, Mauri.

Injured players:

Cana (knee), Ederson (thigh).

 

Formation

57lazio

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    Moderator May 19, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    fino alla finale

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:46 am

    Man I hope we win this, we’ve been waiting long enough for that 10th Coppa!
    Next season 3 golden stars and a silver one on the shirt!!!

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio May 20, 2015 at 10:41 am

      What is icon of winning 3 CL’s ? 🙂

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 12:40 pm

        A black and white bull? :p

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 8:58 am

    How is Asamoah these days, he isn’t on the injury list and he isn’t in the squad either, so what is his situation?

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio May 20, 2015 at 10:40 am

      Good question .. He Will be like a new player next season !! Always had high expactions of him .. Skilled, fast, strong .. He got it all

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 6:30 pm

      He was warming up during the previous game but didn’t sub in. Long injury but i guess he will be back soon.

  • Avatar
    JuveMarchisio May 20, 2015 at 10:39 am

    Good question .. He Will be like a new player next season !! Always had high expactions of him .. Skilled, fast, strong .. He got iT all

  • Avatar
    ho Hi May 20, 2015 at 12:40 pm

    Isnt Evra on his position?

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    I’m a little disappointed we’re going 3-5-2 and sturaro isn’t getting a chance but oh well. It’s impossible to be upset when barzagli is playing. FINO ALLA FINE FORZA JUVENTUS!!!

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 4:31 pm

      Disappointed about the 3-5-2 too and since I have class I wont be able to watch the game 🙁 no morata and marchisio either, too damn bad

      • Avatar
        JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 6:05 pm

        I’ve missed so many games in the second half of the season due to class. but now I’m finally done with classes 🙂 but yea we’ve played 4-3-1-2 in both games vs lazio this season and outplayed them in both. not quite sure why allegri wants to go 3-5-2

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:16 pm

          Cant remember why but there was a reason for it.

          Yeah it really sucks that i cant watch it, following live blog on my phone though

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 8:44 pm

            the games are in the afternoon for me and that’s when my classes are. last semester i had my classes set up in a way that tuesday and wednesday afternoons i was free to watch the games but i wasnt as lucky this semester

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 6:30 pm

        Evening class?

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:15 pm

          Yeah evening classe every monday and wednesday, sucks to miss some games for this. But I skipped class if we played CL, cause priorities

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 7:25 pm

            Haha easy choice that must have been :DD

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:36 pm

            Absolutely lol xD no fucking way I miss those games, I wanted to skip tonight too but its too important unfortunately

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 6:29 pm

    FORZA JUVE!!! Lets get that double and go for the treble in a couple weeks time! WE CAN IF WE BELIEVE!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Storari???? :s

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 20, 2015 at 7:00 pm

    Chiellini with the goal 1-1!!!

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio May 20, 2015 at 7:08 pm

      Be aware chiellini bites back

  • Avatar
    AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    Why are we playing 3-5-2? I think this formation is making us less dangerous and ineffective in attack…no ideal link between midfield and attack. .

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:38 pm

      There was some reason for it, no idea what it was though. I dont like missing both morata and marchisio for this game

      • Avatar
        AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 7:42 pm

        Yes we are missing two players but we have Pereyra on the bench and 3 midfielder in the field to easily revert to 4-3-1-2.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    Are we playing good guys? Live blog sucks, looks like it is a close game?

    • Avatar
      AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 7:39 pm

      We are not playing good..That’s what u will expect wuth 3-5-2…it’s not like we are playing against Barca..not sure why the coach is so timid

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 7:43 pm

        Lazio also uses this formation though, so besides that shit, do we play better than lazio?

        • Avatar
          AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 7:46 pm

          it’s kind of even…and they seem to outnumber us in the middle…but we are pretty comfortable in the back though…I only wonder if we would be able to score

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 8:01 pm

            Lets hope Llorente can do it, I dont want him subbed for Matri

          • Avatar
            AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 8:42 pm

            Unfortunately Llorente is already subbed for Matri..my worse expectation. .

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 8:48 pm

        We shouldn’t play 3-5-2 against Barca either. We need to push them, not the other way around because they will score easily.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 20, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Extra time……

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 8:42 pm

    we’ve been really poor today. sloppy, tired, uninterested. we can’t keep possession. i understand we cant create as much with 3-5-2 but even by 3-5-2 standards, we’ve been poor. if we play like this against barca, we’ll be destroyed

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 8:50 pm

      Thats the thing though, we won’t play like this against Barca :p It’s like we expect to defeat the Italian teams with such ease we can aproach the games like this. And it seems it’s gonna work too..

      • Avatar
        AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 9:30 pm

        Absolutely we shouldn’t dare 3-5-2 against Barca..because if we can’t create much how then is the likelihood of scoring against them? Secondly. . am I the only one who thinks Pereyra shouldn’t be benched? Don’t we need as much weapons as possible to trouble oppositions? Especially one like Barca if u ask me…

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 9:33 pm

          But who should be benched instead? I really want Pirlo to play this final.

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 9:36 pm

            Buffon

            Lichtsteiner Bonucci Chiellini Evra

            Vidal Pereyra

            Marchisio Pirlo Pogba

            Morata/Tevez

            It seems foolish to play with all of them.

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 9:41 pm

            same team that played vs RM should play vs barca

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 9:44 pm

            So, no Pogba?

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 9:49 pm

            pogba in for sturaro like in the second leg

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve May 22, 2015 at 8:12 am

            Oh wait, the line up i saw was the first leg. Pogba did play in the 2nd leg, but no Pereyra. He subbed in in the 89th minute.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 20, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    Matrriiiiii SIIIIIII

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    MATATATATATRIIIIIIIIIIIIIII first goal since he came back? The offside goal was pretty nice finished though, gotta say that and now he scores again.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 9:35 pm

      I think his second goal, but whatever he’s gone anyway, I love him for the goal tonight but he isnt good enough to stay around

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 9:40 pm

        CL final, minute 88, score 1-1, Matri subbed in a couple minutes ago, brilliant pass from Pirlo over the defence, Matri finishes. What then? :p

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino May 21, 2015 at 5:32 am

          Then we keep him around as assistant something something 😛

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve May 22, 2015 at 8:10 am

            Or we build a statue for him (a small one) and keep that around instead of the real Matri. I’m sure he’d understand a statue is of more use :p

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 22, 2015 at 12:53 pm

            Wow wow wow a statue? I’m sure a sticker will be enough :p

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ May 20, 2015 at 10:14 pm

      Dont forgwt rhe goal that WON US THE GAME AGAINTS FIORE 😛

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    GK fail though.. How can he not save this..

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon May 20, 2015 at 9:00 pm

      Dove too early.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 9:11 pm

    Padoin in. That sub usually means Allegri has full faith that we will hold on to the win. Padoin likes to think differently though.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 20, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10!!!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    Peter May 20, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    After all the shit we gave Matri, he wins the coppa for us…. It should have been Padowin.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    WE GOT THE DOUBLE GUYS

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 20, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    Saw the last ten mins and the extra time, love ya for this goal Matri!!

    • Avatar
      AmsterdamJuventus May 20, 2015 at 9:27 pm

      Me too thank God he proved mr wrong at least on this goal..but overall he is still not convicing

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal May 20, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    not the prettiest of wins but a cup win is a cup win. SILVER STAR!!!!

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ May 20, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    Just got out of qork and FINO ALLA FUCKING DECIMA!!!!

    Wgat else can we say about his team… idk about past teams, but our recent success has to be amongst the most sweetest. You cant right stories like this. The story of this Juventus team was written in the heavens. And the story continues in Berlin,..

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve May 22, 2015 at 8:08 am

      If you do write a story, don’t write right instead of write, you know 😛

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ May 23, 2015 at 8:01 am

        I cant believe i did that :p

  • Avatar
    Munhuu_Juve May 21, 2015 at 10:06 am

    In 2012 Borriello scored game winner against Cesena
    Last year Osvaldo scored game winner against Roma
    Now Matri scored game winner against Lazio
    All of them were loaned strikers, wonder who should we bring next year to score game winner for us 😛 perhaps Pazzini?

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 21, 2015 at 1:02 pm

      Haha 😛
      Or pull off a Matri and loan Gio back xD

      • Avatar
        Munhuu_Juve May 22, 2015 at 2:10 am

        Since MLS have a break during winter why not 😀

    • Avatar
      RUDY ARIS May 21, 2015 at 11:28 pm

      wait, are you talking about the borriello goal that looked like he hit it, but he didn’t actually hit it?

      • Avatar
        Munhuu_Juve May 22, 2015 at 2:08 am

        I think he hit the ball with his left foot. Very crucial goal for clinching the scudetto at that time.

  • Avatar
    ho Hi May 21, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    I read that khedira joins us soon. That doesnt fit. And Pogba will leave us for Barca???

    • Avatar
      Peter May 21, 2015 at 2:15 pm

      If Pirlo leaves this summer, we could use another back up for the midfield, and I think I read Khedira would come on a free transfer. I would be okay with that.

      • Avatar
        LMJuveDK May 21, 2015 at 2:24 pm

        yes if he comes it will be on a free transfer. I dont mind. he could do good or at least be a good backup.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino May 21, 2015 at 2:43 pm

        Yeah Khedira is frozen out at Real Madrid and has en expiring contract. He’s not a Pirlo type of player though

        • Avatar
          Peter May 21, 2015 at 4:11 pm

          I know, Marchisio could take Pirlo’s place, Khedira could play when Vidal / Pogba needs a rest.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 21, 2015 at 2:43 pm

      It’s only rumours, Khedira would be a good addition though. Pogba has been linked to about every major club there is, we’ll see what happens

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio May 21, 2015 at 3:43 pm

      I tink Pogba will stay…Managers and agencies are smelling money en doing there thing but Pogba will do his thing with Juve

    • Avatar
      tpick May 21, 2015 at 6:37 pm

      I’ll take Khedira on a free transfer. He’d come too, knowing that he’d actually get quite a bit of playing time. He’d never replace Pogba or Pirlo, but he’d be a solid CM to have. If Barca give us 100m, I’m ok with Pogba leaving… if Marotta spends it wisely.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve May 22, 2015 at 8:05 am

      Pogba won’t go to Barca. He’s not the Xavi type of player, they don’t need him.

      Edit: AND they are unable to buy anyone this summer.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino May 22, 2015 at 12:52 pm

        They can buy players, but not register them. Thus they can buy Pogba, but can’t add him to the team yet. He would be their player, but he’s have to stay at Juve for one more season

        • Avatar
          Peter May 22, 2015 at 2:29 pm

          Yeah, but why would Juve agree to a deal like that before Euro2016 in France.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 22, 2015 at 2:50 pm

            For Juve it would be okay I think, it would be Pogba who does a bad deal. But the point was that Barca CAN buy him if they want :p

            I’d prefer Pogboom to stay here with us

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve May 22, 2015 at 7:22 pm

          Yeah but there isn’t really much difference between that and staying here another season. Only thing would be that we’d know he will go in 2016.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 23, 2015 at 7:04 am

            Yeah it wouldn’t make much sense, but it’s a possibility

      • Avatar
        tpick May 23, 2015 at 4:20 pm

        The deal with Pogba going to Barca would include a season long loan back to Juve, so they technically would not count him as an incoming transfer until the 2016-2017 season.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve May 22, 2015 at 7:24 pm

    It’s reported that if we pay Madrid an extra 8 million, the buyback clause for Morata will be gone.

    https://www.football-italia.net/66789/juventus-cancel-morata-clause

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL May 22, 2015 at 8:59 pm

      If that’s true, and it happens.. I’ll buy a shirt with his name on it

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino May 23, 2015 at 7:03 am

        I’ve been considering getting a shirt with his name for some time now, I really like Morata. Already liked him when he was still at Real.

        Just waiting for some confirmation that he’ll stay at Juve

        • Avatar
          JanJuveNL May 23, 2015 at 6:18 pm

          Yeah that’s my reason too :p

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 23, 2015 at 7:02 am

      Wow for real? On the other hand, it should be Morata’s decision to stay with us, it should not be decided by paying another fee for him