Match Preview Champions League

Juventus-Malmo Preview: A New Champions League Campaign Begins

September 15, 2014 - 8:40 pm

 juventus    Juventus                                                      V                                               Malmo         malmo

19:45 UK


Champions League – Game 1  [16th September 2014]  – Juventus Stadium

The time has finally come to exorcise the demons of last year’s Champions League campaign. Last year’s run, ending in the group stage as we all know, has been a sore point for all Juventini. We’ve used it to argue about the old coach, other fans have used it to abuse us – though to be fair, this was usually done as Juve crushed the fans’ respective teams in Serie A action – and it’s been haunting all of us as we know that Juventus are one of the better sides in Europe, and we know that we can and have done better on the European stage in the past. Like, for example, the previous season’s run to the quarter finals. But that was then, this is now, and we have a new campaign with new group stage opponents: Atletico Madrid, FF Malmo, and Olympiakos. It’s quite a fitting group for the Champions League, as all four teams are reigning champions of their respective leagues.

That said, let’s move on to the first game, at home versus Malmo.

Juventus

Despite the cries of an “injury crisis earlier this week, Juventus actually have most of their players available for Max Allegri to choose. In fact, Andrea Barzagli and Giorgio Chiellini are both back in the squad, one returning from injury and one returning from suspension and a mild injury. However, Barzagli is highly unlikely to start, while Chiellini is almost a lock to start.

He’ll be joined in defense by Gianluigi Buffon, Martin Caceres, and Leonardo Bonucci. Meaning, we are likely to see three men in defense again. Ironically, Allegri has so far stuck to the 3-5-2 – though his is not the same as Juve’s 3-5-2 last year – and it seems he will do so in the first Champions League match as well. Now, this is definitely the first choice defense with Barzagli injured. Heck, given Caceres’ form since March, it may be our best defense period. But, the positional battle between Caceres and Barzagli is worth a deeper look, so for now we will just have to note Caceres’ fine form.

Outwide, look to see Stephan Lichtsteiner – fresh off of a great game versus Udinese – and Patrice Evra – who had a not so great game. Where’s Kwadwo Asamoah? Well, he’s probably going to start in midfield for only the second time in his Juventus tenure.

That is, if Simone Padoin doesn’t pip him to the spot. It’s being reported that Padoin and Asamoah are battling it out for a starting spot tomorrow, but it seems to me as if Asamoah is the obvious favorite. Claudio Marchisio and Paul Pogba round out the midfield, with Arturo Vidal still out with an injury, at least until next weekend.

Finally, Max looks to keep it simple up top by starting Carlos Tevez and Fernando Llorente, the dangerous duo. Will Tevez score his first Champions League goal of the decade? You’ll have to watch to find out.

Injuries

icon05injured  Andrea Barzagli (Returning to fitness), Andrea Pirlo,  Arturo Vidal

Suspensions

icon07red  Roberto Pereyra

Confirmed Starting XI : Buffon; Caceres, Bonucci, Chiellini; Lichtsteiner, Pogba, Marchisio, Asamoah, Evra; Tevez, Llorente

Juventus bench: Storari, Romulo, Ogbonna, Padoin, Coman, Giovinco, Morata

Malmo

One never really knows what to expect when Juve faces these smaller European sides. Sure, they’re not Barcelona, but they are still champions of their respective league and as we have seen in recent history – these small champions can put up a big fight against Juventus.

In fact, Malmo deserve respect given their road to the Champions League. They had come from behind victories in both of their last two playoff rounds, versus Sparta Prauge and Redbull Salzburg. So, this is not a side that gives up easily, and I doubt they will do so just because they are playing Juventus.

Luckily for us, there is a big Juve fan who lives in Malmo, @JuventinoTurin. Here are some comments he had on Malmo’s side.

Malmo are a dominant side in Sweden, at least in the past few years. Historically they are too, in fact they reached the final of the European Cup in 1979, losing to Brian Clough’s Nottingham Forest side. The dominance has continued into this season, they’re five points in first place, and have only lost two games. They are led by Markus Rosenberg, their 32 year old dominant striker. He’s got ten goals so far in their domestic campaign, while in Champions League qualifying he has scored four goals in six games. However, our man @JuventinoTurin doesn’t seem worried.

It’s worth noting that Malmo seem to be more skilled in attack than in defense. In fact, they don’t have the best defense in Sweden, at least statistically. Regardless, expect Malmo to be at their best for the game. They want to leave their mark in the  Champions League too, although to do so they need to beat both Juventus and her greatest weapon, Juventus Stadium. Tomorrow we’ll see what happens, when the Champions League returns.

Confirmed Starting XI: Olsen; Tinnerholm, E Johansson, Halsti, Helander, Konate; Eriksson, Adu, Forsberg: Thelin, Rosenberg

Malmo bench: Azinovic, Hammar, Kroon, Cibicki, Nazari, Rakip, Mehmeti

Injuries

icon05injured  Simon Thern, Piotr Johansson

 

Probable Lineups

03malmo

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 15, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    Come on Juve….make us happy and take this champions league by storm.3 points to start off with will do nicely please.

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL September 15, 2014 at 10:12 pm

      Tell ’em dino!

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 7:05 am

        lol think we are all desperate for us to do well in this champions league campaign.it starts tonight,at home,no draws allowed,win only!

        • Avatar
          JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 9:30 am

          Yes, the only thing that counts

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio September 16, 2014 at 10:51 am

      we should have 18/18 at the end … or maybe a draw in Madrid … oh no … FORZA JUVE

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 15, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    The best part about by schedule this semester, I have no classes on tuesdays and thursdays during the CL!

  • Avatar
    Marco Basile September 16, 2014 at 10:07 am

    I’m hoping to see Morata get some game time tonight. He did some great runs in just the 2 minutes he was on against Udinese!

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 16, 2014 at 1:11 pm

      I’d go as far as start him, I don’t want to risk Tevez too much personally

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    juve under 19’s win 2-0 v malmo

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 16, 2014 at 2:49 pm

      Haha that’s a good start, lets keep that up

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 16, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    As this is the easiest match on paper out of the 6 group games, I expect nothing less than at least a 2-0 win tonight..
    Injury crisis or not, it’s no excuse to drop points.
    FORZA JUVE!

    PS: Really nobody who knows a site where I could watch the whole game? Will miss the biggest part of this game 🙁

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 2:57 pm

      type in cricfree tv or try freetv4all.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 16, 2014 at 3:01 pm

        Thx dino, will certainly try. Sucks so hard to miss the first CL game!

        • Avatar
          dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 3:05 pm

          i know mate.will try and find more for you

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    The dutch streams will not be showing Juve tonight. None of our channels show it on tv. I can’t remember the last time i had to watch Juve’s CL matches on a stream… Best part is, they rather show a ”switch” channel with all goals and moments of all matches instead. Dumbasses..

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 16, 2014 at 3:16 pm

      Belgian sport channels only show the Belgian team in the CL, it’s ridiculous. I don’t give a rats ass about Anderlecht in the CL, they will get shit on anyway like always.

      It used to be the commercially most interesting game, so you could at least watch top teams play, but now we’re stuck with seeing the Belgian champion get demolished 6 games in a row first.

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 3:27 pm

        lol tell it how it is for poor Anderlecht

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino September 16, 2014 at 3:50 pm

          Doesnt matter which Belgian team it is, they get destroyed anyway xD CL is too much for those teams, simple as that. Like last season, the PSG-Anderlecht games, those weren’t games anymore, that was slaughter

          • Avatar
            dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 4:10 pm

            your right mate

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal September 16, 2014 at 4:49 pm

            i’m sure if juve got anderlecht, anderlecht would be able to get a point off us lol

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 6:43 pm

            Hahahah indeed

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 17, 2014 at 6:30 am

            That would be horrible to witness xD

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 3:25 pm

      damn!…that sucks,hopefully stream will be good for you.

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    NOI SIAMO JUVE……NOI SIAMO JUVE…..NOI SIAMO JUVE

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 4:23 pm

    i was walking through nottingham city centre this afternoon and had to pass the train station where my car was parked.I was wearing my yellow Juve top and had to walk through liverpool fans who was catching the train from nottingham to see them play.50 of them at least chanting who are you?who are you?…i approached one and asked if this was there meeting spot…he said yes and told me to get out of here.I told him im a Juventino and im not rushing for anyone…mind you,if i had you lads with me we would of had a plate of pasta,glass of wine…maybe a stroll round the train station lol.Cheeky bastards…..im sure everyone looked at my shirt and thought……Oh…thats what its like to be a Juventini….So proud of OUR JUVE!!!!

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal September 16, 2014 at 4:50 pm

      I wish we had drawn liverpool in our group. a game with history. after the game you could’ve gone back to them and they wouldn’t have been able to say a word to you haha

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 4:50 pm

        History,hate from most point of view….of all the fans eh?

    • Avatar
      philip_manila September 17, 2014 at 4:06 am

      you are a tough dude

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Smack these JUVE,lets show europe we dont belong in europa league,we are champions league protagonists….Pride of Italia…..Pride of Europe…..FOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRZZZZZZAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA JUUUUUUUUUUUVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEE

  • Avatar
    Samuel September 16, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    Hello guys where are you watching the game? I am in South Florida and they are not showing it on TV…. And I have the sports package what a shame

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 16, 2014 at 5:54 pm

      livestream…..and welcome to the elite!

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 5:57 pm

      Welcome man, i often use wiziwig.tv (thanks to Dutchjuve). A lot of the links require sopcast to stream but some don’t. https://www.wiziwig.tv/broadcast.php?matchid=277309&part=sports
      I already clicked on the right game.

      • Avatar
        Samuel September 16, 2014 at 6:02 pm

        Thank you I appreciated

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 6:44 pm

        Sopcast is also great software. No problems, no viruses, perfect quality almost like watching tv.

        • Avatar
          JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 7:06 pm

          Yea it’s really great indeed

    • Avatar
      Guest September 16, 2014 at 6:01 pm

      thank you guys!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 6:45 pm

    Might be pretty good quality and english commentary: https://www.wiz1.net/channel5

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    What i do like about Allegri is that he’s constantly on the sideline. Literally on the sideline, outside his coaching box. Correct me if i’m wrong, but i think at Milan he was sitting most of the time.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Wasn’t that the Malmo player touching it with his hand?

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 7:05 pm

      Yes, it was. And pogba was onside

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 7:13 pm

        So i did see it right.. And yeah Pogba was onside. Ref gave them a cornor instead of a goal kick for us too later. Seems like he doesn’t really like us.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Buffon…

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 16, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Evra s defending is too careless

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK September 16, 2014 at 7:05 pm

      so is his passes

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 7:14 pm

        I think his passes aren’t too bad. Playing well with his teammates.

    • Avatar
      tpick September 16, 2014 at 7:43 pm

      Evra looked good in the first half. Just as good as Asamoah at LWB.

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 16, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    our passing is terrible today

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Lichtsteiner shoot PLEASE…………

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    That shouldve been a goal.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    What’s with Bonucci taking free kicks?

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 16, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    Poor poor first half. Really frustrating how we came up with nothing. Bring Morata or anyone who can change this dull passing game our team is playing

  • Avatar
    tpick September 16, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Llorente needs to be subbed, he hasnt done anything. Asamoah has looked a little out of place too, and his shooting has been poor. We need Coman up top to draw their defenders away and to tire them out and Pereyra/Romulo for Asamoah around 65, and Morata for Tevez around 80.

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 7:39 pm

      Pereyra is suspended but I want to see Coman and Morata too.

      • Avatar
        tpick September 16, 2014 at 7:39 pm

        whoscored has him on the bench, o well, Romulo then. As long as its not Padoin idc.

  • Avatar
    RUDY ARIS September 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    can’t watch the game cause im at work, but judging from the comments all I can say is that I’m not surprised. We suck against small teams.

    • Avatar
      tpick September 16, 2014 at 7:42 pm

      It always seems like we play like we’ve already won the game against small teams, even when it’s 0-0.

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 16, 2014 at 7:43 pm

    Such a frustrating half but Malmo doing what they need to. Defending in numbers, Juve typically struggling to create anything of note.
    Caceres excellent as always
    Pogba and Lichsteiner trying their hardest – both should have done better though
    Asamoah not doing so well back in the centre
    Evra with one decent cross of note, otherwise a bit hit and miss.
    Marchisio struggling to create anything of note
    Tevez trying but sheer determination isn’t always enough

    Second half ? Coman and Morata please

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 16, 2014 at 9:49 pm

      Caceres excellent as always.. What?! This site..

      He impressed me going forward as per but defensively he is still prone to slip ups. Vastly improved so far this season though, no doubt

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 9:51 pm

        When so many people say it, it should have atleast a little bit of truth in it. Caceres is a good defender. Makes mistakes, but he’s solid enough for Juve.

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 16, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    Tactics….

    • Avatar
      RUDY ARIS September 16, 2014 at 8:16 pm

      lol at least it worked

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 16, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    TEVEEEEEEEZ

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    TEVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZ GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    Asamoah wonderful assist..

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 16, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    aww man offside

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Morata on.

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    That run! Morata is quicker than i thought

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    wow tevez

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

      That was perfect

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    TEVEZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ He can also take free kicks 😀

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    No padoin!

    • Avatar
      Peter September 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

      No party!

      • Avatar
        JanJuveNL September 16, 2014 at 8:35 pm

        Haha yeah right

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    and romulo makes his debut for juve

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    nice win guys! totally worth waking up at 3 in the morning

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    Marchisio looks good with a Malmo jersey on :$

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 16, 2014 at 9:47 pm

      Marchisio looks good whatever he wears :p

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 9:49 pm

        Guess so :p

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 16, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    and in other news, atletico just lost to olympiakos

    • Avatar
      Peter September 16, 2014 at 9:18 pm

      I’m not exactly happy for that, but if we manage to beat them, we will be in a very good position.

  • Avatar
    JuveMondo September 16, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    Morata on for 5 minutes and makes an immediate impact. any shot he starts vs milan? No subs until very late so maybe allegri’s main focus will be europe this year

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 16, 2014 at 9:46 pm

      It has to be, if he wins serie a people will just say ‘the team did it and he’s made no difference’ if he does well in Europe thats when people will take note and start to truly get on his side

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 9:55 pm

      I’m liking Morata already in the 8 mins he’s played so far. I wouldn’t mind seeing him start with Tevez against Milan. Could be a monster duo.
      CL should be Allegri’s priority. We should still be able to win the Serie A even when we focus much more on CL. We have good depth to do well in both of them.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 9:52 pm

    With Olympiacos defeating Atletico Madrid, i’m gonna have to take my words back about them being an easy team. I also take back my words about Afellay not in form. Good goal from him and good match from Olympiacos.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 16, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    Tevez already was playing well for us, but right now he’s becoming our star player. Made the difference against Udinese with a goal and assist and now 2 goals against Malmo. Great to see this. Especially since he was already semi written off when he joined us.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 16, 2014 at 10:22 pm

    Missed the match, how was it?

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 16, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    MATCH REVIEW : https://www.juvefc.com/post-match-review-juventus-2-1-malmo/ – NEW THREAD

  • Avatar
    NewFan September 17, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    Good start but let’s keep it low. This was the easiest game of the group and now we have the hardest one. But we can do this, Atletico didn’t seem unbeatable to me in the game against Oly.