Match Preview Serie A

Match Preview: AC Milan v Juventus

March 1, 2014 - 7:53 pm

Are you ready for some football? Juventus vs Milan. 1st vs 10th. 66 points vs 35 points. But seriously, Milan always give Juve a tough fight, even if they have struggled the past few years. Plus, now with Clarence Seedorf running the show, Milan are supposedly “reborn.” The recent results lend this some credence, though not to the extent that some Milanisti have praised Seedorf. We will return to Milan in a minute, first comes Juve.

Juventus

Juve are in pretty good form at the moment, having won their last four matches in all competitions. That said a few players will be missing for this match, most notably Arturo Vidal (suspended for one Serie A match) and Giorgio Chiellini (recovering from injury, although Gazzeta dello Sport has him on the bench for the match.) Mirko Vucinic and Simone Pepe are also out injured.

So that means in defense we have two-thirds of the normal three man back line. Andrea Barzagli (who also just returned from injury) and Leonardo Bonucci (fresh off his dominant performance vs Trabzonspor) will pair up with Martin Caceres or Angelo Ogbonna. Probably Caceres will start, as he was subbed off early against Trabzonspor, in what must have been an attempt to rest him.

Out on the flanks we have another player returning from injury (though a minor one that did not keep him out for long) with Kwadwo Asamoah predicted to start. It’s still possible to see Federico Peluso start at LWB, but seeing as Asamoah seems to have recovered quickly we can assume he will start in this important match. On the other side it’s obviously going to be Stephan Lichtsteiner.

With Vidal out the midfield will obviously be a configuration of Andrea Pirlo, Claudio Marchisio, and, Paul Pogba. Presumably Pogba will sort of fill Vidal’s role, while he is not yet as adept at marking opposing players as Vidal he can use his height (those long legs) and body to give opponents a hard time. Meanwhile Marchisio is an absolute workhorse and loves to score against Milan. Pirlo is Pirlo, we know what that means.

Up top we see the first choice partnership of Fernando Llorente and Carlos Tevez. I actually want to see Sebastian Giovinco come in as a sub (if the situation is appropriate) so he can build off of his play against Trabzonspor, especially since he has a decent history of play versus Milan. In reality, if any striker is to be brought on as a sub, it will probably be Dani Osvaldo. Which is more than ok with me.

Milan

First thing’s first, y’all should check out Enrico’s scouting report on Milan. Per usual, our Italian friend has the scoop on what’s up with Juve’s opposition. Milan have a ton of injured players, but the only really notable ones (at least for this match) are Mario Balotelli and the suspended Sulley Muntari (no Gol di Muntari this time.)

As Enrico pointed out, Balotelli will be missing his third straight game against Juve. However, Milan have found ways to compete with Juve regardless of Balotelli’s injuries or absences. The last game between the two, in October, was the most lopsided in recent years. The scoreline? 3-2. That said, it was 3-1 for a while until Muntari scored his second goal towards the end of the match. Philippe Mexes also got sent off, so that further hampered Milan.

Much has changed at Milan since then, between my dear friend Max Allegri getting replaced by Clarence Seedorf, and the arrivals of the likes of Adil Rami, Keisuke Honda, and, Adel Taarabt.

Rami is expected to start at centerback alongside Daniele Bonera. Remember, Bonera once shut down Messi. On the flanks are Mattia De Sciglio and Urby Emanuelson which basically means both sides will have their weaker wide player marking the opponent’s strongest wide player. However, the gulf between De Sciglio and Emanuelson is far greater than that between Lichtsteiner and Asamoah.

Now, Milan will pobably use a 4-2-3-1 so they can get three attacking mids on the field (which could cause problems for Pirlo, in terms of them marking him, and vice versa) so that means two midfielders who are more or less more focused on winning the ball back for the attacking mids, and thus also defending. It’s expected to be a combination of Nigel de Jong and Riccardo Montolivo, but Essien could also start in place of Montolivo. This would be a more of a defensive pairing, but seeing as how Milan are playing with three attacking mids it may be appropriate.

Kaka and Taarabt are pretty surely going to start at CAM, but the third man is up in the air. It could be Andrea Poli, or it could be one of Keisuke Honda, Valter Birsa, Robinho (who usually does well against Juventus, in my opinion), or Riccardo Saponara. Either way, I am sure whoever doesn’t start will probably see action as a substitute.

Finally up top in place of the injured Balotelli will be Giampaolo Pazzini. Pazzini hasn’t seen much time this year, but he has been playing more steadily with Seedorf. He played a full 90 minutes against Sampdoria, and did well though he did not score. Pazzini can certainly finish, the question is will the attacking midfielders of Milan give him opportunities to break through Juve’s backline? We will see tomorrow.

Bottom Line

I think this will be a very good match. Seedorf will want to make a statement, plus it’s rivalry anyway. Milan and Juve almost always put on a good show, but I do think Juve are the better team and will find a way to win. However it will be a close game.

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    Peter March 1, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    Has Balotelli ever played against Juve?
    I’m starting to think that this is intentional, as if someone didn’t want him to play against basically the Italian national team’s defense.

    Conspiracy theories are fun.

    • Avatar
      JuventusMalta1998 March 1, 2014 at 9:41 pm

      he used to destroy us when he was with inter

      • Avatar
        JuveFC.com March 1, 2014 at 10:36 pm

        Yup….still remember his goal in Coppa in Jan of 2010….Buffon parried a shot away from someone else and Balo pounced on the rebound

      • Avatar
        adp1974 March 1, 2014 at 11:59 pm

        i wouldn’t say he destroyed us.

  • Avatar
    JosephVitale March 1, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    never with milan. only against inter. It makes me suspicious

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 March 1, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    Yeah Baby, Roma drew. Juve HAVE to win tomorrow!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 1, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    Did Balotelli get send off in the last match or is it an injury? I cant remember.

    I am excited to play against Seedorf. I like him and he can win everything but the matches against us.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 1, 2014 at 11:48 pm

      yea hes injured… read the articles Dutch!! :p

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 7:47 pm

        I’m no reader lol

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 1:04 am

    Only 3 people in Milan I respect are Kaka, Balotelli, and Seedorf.

    • Avatar
      Peter March 2, 2014 at 9:12 am

      What’s wrong with Abbiati, De Sciglio, Montolivo, Abate, Poli, Essien, etc.. ?
      Did they say something? 😛

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 1:11 pm

        Umm, I don’t like them? Just because you do doesn’t mean I also have to like them.

        • Avatar
          Peter March 2, 2014 at 1:39 pm

          Liking someone has nothing to do with respect.
          I don’t like them, but I respect them for what they do, or have done for Milan, and generally during their career.

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 2:02 pm

            Ok.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 4:11 am

      oooooh someone needs to take a seat

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 11:28 am

    So Veratti said that moving to Juve in the summer would be a step back… umm i dont know how to respond to that, but im not gonna lie, that one stung . Juventus(Glory, Loyalty, Pride, Heart, Determination, Great Love etc) >>>>>>>> Psg(money whores, pretenders) all day everyday Marco. and just when i was hoping Psg would win the Cl so Ibra could deservedly add that to his pedigree, but now ive changed my mind.

    • Avatar
      Peter March 2, 2014 at 12:38 pm

      He may change his mind during the world cup. Or perhaps Bonucci could do it for him.

      Verratti : “Hey Leo, wanted to talk?”
      Bonucci: “Yeah, about this step back thing. Do these look like a step back for you?”
      https://www.goolfm.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/bonucci-guns-490ai_10.jpg

      There’s no way we could buy him out of his contract anyway. It expires in 2018, he will be 25 then, still good for a freebie, lol.

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 3:57 pm

        lol

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 10:16 pm

        youre hilarious. seriously

    • Avatar
      Bianconeri_Archer_PH March 2, 2014 at 1:36 pm

      Yeah. Dick move on my opinion. Saying a club like ours (with its own history and title winning capability), or any other club, is a sure fire way for fans to dislike you

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 2:08 pm

      That’s just fine, he wants to snub us that’s cool, we don’t need him and Psg can also forget about getting Pogba too.

      • Avatar
        adp1974 March 2, 2014 at 4:00 pm

        the first thing that came to my mind for me is, this dolt has to play with a half dozen Juve players on the national team.

        Right now, Juve are to Serie A as PSG is to Ligue 1. We’re not spending 100 million every transfer window like them, but the talent is on par, and I’d even give an edge to Juve in terms of overall talent over PSG… These are essentially one team leagues with other teams slowly starting to catch up to them (i.e. Roma and Napoli, AS Monaco), but Serie A is still currently a better league, and is still somewhat of a higher profile than Ligue 1, for now anyways, we’ll see what the future holds.

        His comments are just so wrong – You cannot even put the two clubs in the same sentence in terms of history, prestige, and just everything.. PSG is a recent phenomena, whereas Juve has been “special” for a 100 years.

        • Avatar
          JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 5:42 pm

          Dead on dude, agreed.

          • Avatar
            adp1974 March 2, 2014 at 6:40 pm

            what part of the world are you in?

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 7:00 pm

            I just agree with what ur saying man?

          • Avatar
            adp1974 March 3, 2014 at 4:17 am

            just asking what part of the world you are writing in from .. thats all. curious to know where everyone is from on this forum.. cool to know juve fans all over the globe.

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 3, 2014 at 8:30 am

            haha i think he read your comment wrong. hes from the east coast of the U.s. i think

    • Avatar
      adp1974 March 2, 2014 at 2:17 pm

      i think it’s more a case of moving back to Serie A would be a step back – not that the french league is any better, but it is going to gain in profile with the Euro’s being hosted there and the new and refurbished stadium projects that are going on – don’t be surprised if Ligue 1 takes over Serie A soon after the Euro’s or even leading up to it .. They better get their act together in Italy and start fixing things, or we’ll be the new Dutch League, meaning we were a once prominent league that went into the toilet.. (no offense to DutchJuve, just using it as an example)

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal March 2, 2014 at 2:27 pm

      We dont need him anyways. The only thing he has going for him is he’s italian. If he was german or spanish or something, no one would be this interested in bringing him here.

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 3:57 pm

        Oh we will need him, there’s no better player up and coming in his role and its a role we rely on.

        • Avatar
          JuventusVidal March 2, 2014 at 4:57 pm

          If gundogan is able to get over his injury problems, he’s a far better player

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 3:56 pm

      I highly doubt he said it with the meaning that it has been reported as, wouldn’t exactly be the first time the media twist people’s meanings.

  • Avatar
    adp1974 March 2, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    gabbiadini with a wonder strike today against Torino .. Wow. Also, Immobile on the pitch for Torino, good to be watching our younger prospects – god knows if they ever come to Juve, they’ll probably never see the pitch.

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 3:53 pm

      Gabbiadini might yet but I doubt that immobile ever will which is a shame.

      • Avatar
        JuventusVidal March 2, 2014 at 4:59 pm

        We really should bring back both. The two have incredible chemistry together

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    What happened with berardi? Sent off just after coming on? Also, why the f*ck has the new manager dropped him?!

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal March 2, 2014 at 4:58 pm

      The new manager is a fucking idiot. Sassuolo have lost every game under him. He has completely screwed over berardi by playing a 3-5-2.

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 9:06 pm

        I know, why would you change to a formation that limits your best player?

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 7:44 pm

      Wanna go and kill him?

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 9:06 pm

        Maybe

  • Avatar
    Maxwell Rebman March 2, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    anybody know of a link for the upcoming thrashing of milan?

    • Avatar
      Hanna March 2, 2014 at 5:13 pm

      https://gofirstrow.eu/

      • Avatar
        Maxwell Rebman March 2, 2014 at 7:31 pm

        thank you love!

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal March 2, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Asa’s back!

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 7:24 pm

      Lol where did he go in the first place?

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      at first, i read ” Asa’s black!” and i was like duuh :p

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    Praying for no black shorts today, err…

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    Dutch: https://stvstreams.com/

    Belgium: https://www.bvls2013.com/bvls/

    English: https://stvstreams.com/wowza/stvflash1.html

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 7:46 pm

      Best streams dude. much Hd, wow quality, wow…. lol

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    The cursed black shorts, oh boy!

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 7:49 pm

      Oh no…

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    Asamoah fail 😀

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    Bonucci wow

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 8:15 pm

      I think I just shit myself a little…

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    FERNANDOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    SO undeserved but GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

  • Avatar
    Munhuu_Juve March 2, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Come on lads! Hope we will see different team in second half. They have 16 shots which is 10 more than us. I don’t want to hear Bus tactic or some other BS.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 8:48 pm

      It isn’t bus tactic, more lazy tactic. They’ve had 16 shots and like 5 or 6 major chances, which won’t happen if you park the bus.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 10:03 pm

      i read that Pirlo got marked out. and Pogba just hasnt been his self. when 2/3 of your cms dont perform, its not easy to take control of a match

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Wth? Terrible call ref

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    TEVEEEZZZ HOLY CRAPPPP

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH WHAT A FOOKIN GOOOOOOOOOOOOOL TEVEZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli March 2, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    Seems like an odd time for milan to be taking off their best player.. Not that I mind too much!

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH March 2, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    padoin time… yay…

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 9:31 pm

    You Know What Time It Is…………

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH March 2, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    damn. close with another pogbomb

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    RIP San Siro crossbar

    • Avatar
      Bianconeri_Archer_PH March 2, 2014 at 9:40 pm

      woah. have yet to see the replay but i thought buffon saved that

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 9:42 pm

      Lol on both ends.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    AT LAST MY BRETHREN, WE HAVE BROKEN THE DAMNED BLACK SHORTS SPELL!!!!!!!.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 9:48 pm

      We didn’t play well though

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon March 2, 2014 at 9:52 pm

        Fine, shattered it, dented it, merely scratched it???? COME ON MAN HELP ME OUT!!!!!!!!

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 9:54 pm

          Merely scratched it sounds about right lol. Next time we play in black shorts we might break through it thanks to this scratch.

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino March 3, 2014 at 10:43 am

          None of those, you can’t break that what doesn’t exist

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve March 3, 2014 at 2:24 pm

            Don’t underestimate what you can’t see, hear, smell or feel!

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino March 4, 2014 at 12:15 am

            Air? 😛

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 9:55 pm

        a positive result nonetheless! now stop with superstition crap! your mind and beliefs are powerful then you give it credit for!

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 9:58 pm

        a positive result nonetheless! Now stop with that superstition crap! your minds and what you choose to believe are more powerful than you give them credit for.

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 9:59 pm

          Why double post? You’re THAT worried about me and my mind? 😛

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 10:00 pm

            stupid disqus! it wasnt me

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 10:06 pm

            disqus has a mind of its own

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    you know a team is boss when we play like crap yet still end up with the victory 🙂 Tevez and Llorente have been greatly fundamental this season and all for 9 mill euros plus bonuses. Beppe, you’s a boss.

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL March 2, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      One of the characteristics of a champion is winning your bad games 😉

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ March 2, 2014 at 10:13 pm

        we must be the champions of champs then cuz this season has been full of below standard games 🙂

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL March 2, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    Seedorf is pure class. He loses an important game and all he does is praise Juve

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal March 2, 2014 at 11:28 pm

    shout out to caceres. head injury and bloodied but still fighting on. he’s no chiello but he’s got that juve grinta too

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve March 2, 2014 at 11:42 pm

      And that’s what i love about him.

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal March 3, 2014 at 12:29 am

    normally coaches man mark pirlo but for some reason seedorf had de jong man mark pogba. odd choice.

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli March 4, 2014 at 3:11 am

      He seems to make a lot of odd choices tbh