Match Preview Serie A

Juventus v Chievo – Serie A Match Preview & Scouting

September 11, 2015 - 2:46 pm

juventuschievo

Juventus v Chievo

Serie A Week 3 –  Saturday, 12th September – 19:45 CET – Juventus Stadium


juventus

Juventus

After the worst start in Juventus’ history, they had not lost the first two games of the season since 1912, when the Italian league was not called Serie A yet, redemption is necessary as a surprisingly fiery Chievo Verona visit Turin. Despite the zero in the standing, there are reasons to be optimistic, first of all the furious reactions in ten men against Roma that was almost enough to produce a tie.

The last day of the transfer market window brought Mario Lemina and Hernanes and, also thanks to the return of Claudio Marchisio, we go from no options in the midfield to plenty of alternatives. As the coach stated, the group is complete and the season starts now.

Even if he was not the player we pursued the most, Hernanes is a quality reinforcement, he has proved with Lazio that he can be a difference maker in Serie A and had a nice end of his 2014/2015 campaign with Inter. More importantly, it might not be a sexy acquisition, but Hernanes is a full-fledged trequartista who fits in perfectly, has a knack for scoring from outside the box, is very creative, can easily glide past his man and is an excellent free kick taker. Had he been five years younger, we would be being parading in San Carlo square. It is a patch after the Draxler fiasco, but it is a good one. As Giuseppe Marotta admitted, he likes to buy players who have Serie A experience and there are not many option in that role: Franco Vazquez, Marek Hamsik and Riccardo Saponara, all reported Juve targets at some point, turned out to be either not for sale or too expensive.

The final additions mean that we are not going to see 3-5-2 from the start anytime soon. It is not a knock on the scheme as I do not think there is any formation that ultimately makes you win, but, more often than not, the approach we used with 3-5-2 was too passive. With Massimiliano Allegri at the helm, we have never seen the Contian 3-3-4 with the two wing-backs constantly on the opponent’s final third. It is ok though, every coach is a master of his own tactics, Allegri was smart in easing the transition last season, but now it is 4-3-1-2 time.

Sami Khedira remains out, while Kwadwo Asamoah has resumed practicing with the rest of group last week, but it is probably too early to ask him to contribute. Patrice Evra is suspended, so Alex Sandro will make his debut in black and white. Allegri announced that Andrea Barzagli will start, so probably Giorgio Chiellini will get some pre-emptive rest ahead of the Etihad clash. The midfield should be composed by Paul Pogba, Claudio Marchisio and probably Stefano Sturaro. Hernanes is slated to start in the hole as Roberto Pereyra has returned from international duties only on Friday. Alvaro Morata has been slowed down by the flu during the week, but he should be in starting XI, if not Mario Mandzukic is ready to take his place in the attack with Paulo Dybala.

Probable lineup:

4-3-1-2: Buffon; Lichsteiner, Barzagli, Bonucci, Alex Sandro; Sturaro, Marchisio, Pogba; Hernanes; Dybala, Morata.

Injuries:

Khedira (thigh), Asamoah (knee).

Suspended:

Evra, Rubinho.

 

 

chievo

Chievo

Chievo Verona have had a stunning start: a comeback win against Empoli on the road and a battering of Lazio. The most surprising part is that they have scored seven goals in two match after being dismal in that aspect last season. The credit goes to the strikes, Alberto Paloschi and in particular Riccardo Meggiorini are on fire, to Rolando Maran, who has always been an offensive minded coach, and to the management who has added some useful weapons.

Lucas Castro, Paul-José Mpoku and Simone Pepe are set to contribute greatly in their scheme: a very pragmatic, almost old-fashioned, 4-4-2 that exploits brilliantly the wing game and can easily turn into a diamond formation as Valter Birsa can play as no. 10 and Castro as box-to-box midfielder. Massimo Gobbi is a boring purchase, but he fills a hole at LB left by the departure of Ervin Zukanovic, who was the only valuable player who departed from their relatively successful last season’s campaign, when they easily avoided relegation and finished in 14th position with 43 points.

Seeing the first two matches, you would have never guessed that this team, which all in all is not that different from last season’s version, scored only 28 goals in 2014/2015. They have already tallied ¼ of that in 180 minutes. If Maran could maintain the same defensive balance, clearly their strongest suit as they conceded only 41 goals in the previous year, better than the fourth-placed Fiorentina, he would have built a team that could go really far. Even when the performances of the strikers will inevitably regress to normalcy – I do not expect Meggiorini to dish a falling back-heel volley assist every week – Chievo will remain one of stoutest low-table team and one of the toughest to score against.

Chievo’s defense is hard to attack because of Dario Dainelli and Alessandro Gamberini’s quiet leadership, Bostjan Cesar’s physical presence and the work rate of the fullbacks Nicolas Frey and Gobbi. Scoring early will be the main task for Juventus, so they can avoid getting frustrated, panicking, attacking recklessly and conceding on a defensive lapse. This is what cost them the Udinese game.

Maran has some problems only in the midfield: the nominal starters are out both as Mariano Izco will miss a good chuck of the season because of an ACL tear, while Ivan Radovanovic is dealing with a knee sprain. In the last match, the coach picked Nicola Rigoni, who played at Cittadella in Serie B last season, over Anders Christiansen to play alongside Perparim Hetemaj in the middle. In the deadline day, they have added the experienced Giampiero Pinzi from Udinese, so he could be a viable option in a big game, where a rookie could be a little rattled.

The reports say that Maran intends to confirm the lineup that pounded Lazio, which means that Gamberini should play over Dainelli, who had some problems in the preseason, while Castro, Valter Birsa and Meggiorini should win the battle with Mpoku, Pepe and Sergio Pellissier for the starting jobs on the flanks  and in the attack.

Probable lineup:

4-4-2: Bizzarri; Frey, Gamberini, Cesar, Gobbi; Castro, Rigoni, Hetemaj, Birsa; Meggiorini, Paloschi.

Injuries:

Izco (knee), Radovanovic (knee).

Suspended:

None

 

Formation

65chievo

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    tpick September 12, 2015 at 4:55 am

    Probable lineup looks good, wouldn’t mind seeing this Lemina kid get a run out. I think Hernanes will surprise people, especially with a much better team around him.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 5:17 am

      Hope Morata and Dybala start and that Rugani gets a chance. Excited to see Sandro start and for the love of god no padoin pls

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 5:56 pm

    Fuck yeah buffon caceres barzagli Bonucci Sandro marchisio sturaro pogba Hernanes morata and Dybala start

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio September 12, 2015 at 6:10 pm

      Finally not with 3 at THE back

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    things you dont hear every day. or every year. or decade. or century.

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 12, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    any good quality streams?

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 6:51 pm

    wow wtf

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 12, 2015 at 6:54 pm

    bloody hell come on juve!!!!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 6:57 pm

    I am officially worried.

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK September 12, 2015 at 6:59 pm

      I am officially with you on that

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:00 pm

      Hardly any reaction to be seen after the goal

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    Let’s play a game of hangman . I’ll give you the first letter/symbol.

    #
    _____________

    • Avatar
      Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 7:04 pm

      J?

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:10 pm

        Nope

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:11 pm

      E?

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:14 pm

        Good

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:25 pm

          next one L

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:25 pm

            I already won

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:27 pm

            You just took the last pleasure away from me during this game, you bastard!

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:29 pm

            Haha sorry :p It wasn’t a hard guess.

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:32 pm

            L is correct

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:34 pm

            it’s relegation for real? xD

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:36 pm

            No but good guess tho lol

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:57 pm

            next an A?

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:58 pm

            Very goo

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:58 pm

            is the word real in it? :p

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:01 pm

            So far we’re at #Alle r

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 12, 2015 at 7:16 pm

      m?

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:16 pm

        Try again lol

        • Avatar
          dinodelfino September 12, 2015 at 7:17 pm

          im pissed lol and confused at this juve team.i will leave it till the others to guess lol.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:17 pm

      r, as in relegation?

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:17 pm

        Yes

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:18 pm

          Rly? 😀

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 7:37 pm

            Yes the word isn’t relegation tho

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:39 pm

            Oh -.- So we have ELR now. Would you put them in the right order for us?

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:03 pm

            Its #Alle r

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:06 pm

            is there an O in it? There must be more vowels :p

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:07 pm

            You’re pretty good at this

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:07 pm

            You just always ask common vowels first, that gives a somewhat clearer idea of what you’re looking for 😛
            So what do we have now?

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:08 pm

            #Alle r O

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:09 pm

            there is a space between the r and o?:p

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:11 pm

            No space, a letter belongs there. Keep in mind this is a hashtag, as in #ForzaJuve

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:12 pm

            U? I can’t imagine a word starting with R that doesnt have a vowel next, though I’m tired and frustrated as fuck right now xD

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:15 pm

            You’re getting very close, don’t give up. It’s now #Alle r Ou

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:28 pm

            Could you type it all out with – for the missing characters, i’m too tired for this xD

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:33 pm

            Ok fine lol #AllegriOut

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:34 pm

            Looool okay I didn’t expect that one, I was looking at it as Alle “something”

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 7:14 pm

    is it me or are the players are on totally different wavelengths when it comes to passes in the attacking third?

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 12, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    Come on for fucks sake!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    Sandro is making good actions but he’s reckless.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:29 pm

    Zaza is looking calm, he probably thinks he might get a chance today with the attack being so horrible. Probably not though.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:31 pm

      Padoin has a better chance of being subbed in most likely, even as striker cause you know, he’s flexible

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:33 pm

        True i’m suprised he hasn’t been subbed in for Buffon yet on a bad day for Gigi.

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 12, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    we are terrible. We didnt even have any chances. Somebody please tell me whats going on?

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:34 pm

      Chances: Pereyra’s shot after the missheader from a Chievo defender, terrible shot. Marchisio’s shot from outside the box, didn’t hit it well. I think that’s all we had and we’re not dealing well with them.

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 7:46 pm

    okay marchisio is now out. that baffles me. well if he aint fit, then i guess

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    Buffon keeping us in it…

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    HOW DOES THAT NOT GO IN?!! 3shots in 5seconds ffs

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    Can you fucking believe this?????

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:03 pm

    My god they just scored another, even if it is cancelled, we are getting outplayed by fucking Chievo

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK September 12, 2015 at 8:04 pm

      and next match is against Manchester City….. We are gonna get raped

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:05 pm

        With some luck Aguero, Silva and that third guy, forgot which one, will still be injured. Then we’ll lose less hard I guess?

        • Avatar
          LMJuveDK September 12, 2015 at 8:06 pm

          yeah maybe they only score 3 or 4 goals against us

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:04 pm

    Wow this match should be 2 or 3-0 now.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:23 pm

    Penalty!! Now don’t fuckin miss it

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    FINALLY

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    Dybalaaaaaaa

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    A penalty saves us a point. Great job Juve…………….

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    The underdogs equalize!!!

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 8:27 pm

      Against the champions.

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 12, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    We won 1 point. We were lucky with that penalty.

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    shit. i dont wanna celebrate a fucking draw. we lost in my opinion

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 12, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    What a shit performance. Outplayed by fucking Chievo, I can’t believe what i’m typing

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Time for a party, we got out first point!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fucking crap.

  • Avatar
    Luca Moleta September 12, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Shit game. I really thought things would improve in this match. Very lucky that we drew.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Welp time to go to work….

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 8:37 pm

      Have fun.

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:49 pm

        Probably won’t lol

  • Avatar
    Munhuu_Juve September 12, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    Holy shit worst start ever… Wtf is wrong with Juve? Allegri? Formation? Tevez? Pirlo? Vidal?

    • Avatar
      ho Hi September 12, 2015 at 8:50 pm

      Its just a virus. On tuesday we will win

      • Avatar
        Munhuu_Juve September 12, 2015 at 8:54 pm

        Hopefully dude. Same shit is happening to Chelsea too

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 8:57 pm

          All we can say, atleast we aren’t the only ones in deep shit.

    • Avatar
      tpick September 13, 2015 at 12:28 am

      No tevez, no vidal. and nobody to replace them.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 12, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    I think we’ll have a season like Dortmund did last year.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 12, 2015 at 9:06 pm

      So we’ll be great in the Champions League group stage and lose to Juventus in the 2nd round?

      • Avatar
        tpick September 13, 2015 at 12:28 am

        I bet we beat Juventus, they look awful this season.

  • Avatar
    Markiv September 13, 2015 at 3:18 am

    You guys are too pessimistic. This juve has more potential than last year’s. There are more creative outlets than simply tevez and pirlo. Granted a goal scorer like tevez will be missed this season but I think the rest of the team will chip in to make tevez’s numbers from last season. Getting back to the match I always thought that barzagli may not have the legs to play in a back 4 and that sandro (defensively) may need time to gel in this back four. Carceres as always is a horrible replacement for lichsteiner ’cause offensively he slows down the attack and spends too much time holding the ball when he has space to run with it and his defensive positioning is poor. The defence was a bit shakier than usual but that was possibly also down to nerves. Could have done better with set piece marking (Allegri?). The midfield still lacks the grinta it had last year and this may be juve’s undoing this season. Hopefully, lemina steps up as I don’t think sturaro or pereyra have vidal’s presence. In the first half, without pogba the lack of midfield physical strength was obvious but his introduction greatly improved this. Cuadrado and hernanes may potentially be the very important to juve as they give juve more play making options than last year (along with pereyra and dybala). They both must start whenever fit. Attack was the worst of all 3. Morata has still got to rediscover his poacher instinct from last season where his movement was sublime. Dybala does not have the physical strength to play upfront and although he is technically more gifted than giovinco I see him going down the giovinco/coman way (of little use to us). Mandzukic is slow, poor at hold up play and may only be of use aerially (I don’t think he is going to be much better than llorente was). If I were Allegri, I would probably be worried about this more than anything else. There are no fall back options in this department. It is still a bit early but at least this juve was more positive than the ones in weeks 1 and 2.