Match Preview Coppa Italia

Juventus v Hellas Verona Coppa Italia Preview

January 14, 2015 - 6:09 pm

juventushellas

Juventus V Hellas Verona

Coppa Italia – Last 16  [Thursday, 15th January – 20:00 GMT] – Juventus Stadium


juventus

Juventus

After big games versus Inter and Napoli the fixture list for Juventus has calmed down somewhat. They face Hellas Verona in the Coppa Italia – and then again over the weekend in Serie A – which is an opportunity for Max Allegri to rest some of the stars and start some of the bench players. Also, he may throw in some youth players. This is something more or less unheard of at Juventus from the years 2011-2014. I’m not sure why.

As in all Coppa Italia competitions, Gianluigi Buffon will sit and Marco Storari will start. I’m hoping Storari will be motivated by the rumors of a Neto transfer to Juve (in the summer) and will have a terrific game. Either way, Storari has always been a fine deputy for Buffon.

The backline will feature some rotation as well. Right now it’s reported that Leonardo Bonucci will start alongside Angelo Ogbonna at centerback. Meanwhile, Patrice Evra will be rested and Simone Padoin will start in place of the Frenchman. It’s less clear at right back. Stephan Lichtsteiner is of course the usual start, but he should be rested. Who replaces him? Roberto Pereyra? Martin Caceres was not called up, so I can’t see how Lichtsteiner is benched. Technically, Simone Pepe is on the roster.  He played right back once, like in 2010. So, I suppose that is an option.

The midfield also has some stars being rested. Andrea Pirlo wasn’t called up for the game, and Arturo Vidal is expected not to start. So, Claudio Marchisio should start in Pirlo’s regista role. That leaves Paul Pogba and perhaps the youngster Federico Mattiello in the middle two positions and finally Roberto Pereyra in the trequartista role. With Pogba and Marchisio still in there, it’s hardly a weak midfield.

Finally stalwart Carlos Tevez is also not listed on the roster and will be rested. Fernando Llorente is unlikely to start, but Alvaro Morata, Kinglsey Coman, and Sebastian Giovinco are all being considered. I expect Morata to start, and then to be partnered with one of Coman and Giovinco, hopefully Coman.

Predicted Lineup

4-3-1-2 :  Storari; Lichtsteiner, Bonucci, Ogbonna, Padoin; Marchiso, Mattiello, Pereyra; Coman; Morata, Giovinco*

(* it’s now being reported that Giovinco may start as well as Coman and Morata – see adjusted lineup below)

Injuries

Andrea Barzagli (Heel), Kwadwo Asamoah and Romulo  (Both undergone knee surgery)

 

hellas

Hellas Verona

Juve will have a look at the whole Hellas Verona roster as they’ll face them twice in four days. Without Juan Manuel Iturbe and Romulo (and Jorginho too, who left in January), Hellas Verona are no longer that explosive team that plays an exciting brand of football. They added some experienced players and they rely heavily on the veteran play to salvage some points here and here. They are substantially a standard low-table team that tries to navigate through adversities without sinking. They have succeeded so far: they have 21 points, six more than the 18th team in the table, but they are a distant cousin of last season’s squad, which was a legitimate contender for an Europa League spot until the final third of the season.

The main problem is that they haven’t been able to find the change-of-pace players they needed to replace the ones who left. Nico Lopez has had a good run two month ago (four goals in six matches) but he hasn’t scored since November 29. He’s their main offensive creator, but he’s wildly inconsistent. Luca Toni needs to be fed properly to unleash his old-man tricks in the box. The former Bayern Munich and Fiorentina striker is still getting it done at 37: he has scored seven goals in 19 matches and he’s still their focal point.

They are likely to be without several players in both matches: Bosko Jankovic, Mounir Obbadi, Artur Ionita, Juanito Gomez and Vangelis Moras have been nursing injuries for a while and they probably won’t be able to return in time. Lazaros Christodoulopoulos is questionable because of a back issue, but he might be available. These absences dramatically reduces the options at disposal of the coach Andrea Mandorlini so Juventus won’t square off against two completely different lineups in the two matches.

In the first one, some of the least used players will be inserted in the starting XI, like Pierluigi Gollini, Frederik Sorensen, Antonio Luna, Gustavo Campanharo, Mattia Valoti, Jacopo Sala, Javier Saviola or Nene, even though the word coming from Hellas is that they really want to pass the turn, so they could field their best lineup. However, they have been forced to use so many different formations because of injuries and inconsistent performances that they really don’t have a ‘best XI’. It will be interesting to see what Mandorlini does with Toni: the centre-forward can’t bear playing twice in four days and the coach will have to pick one. UPDATE: Toni is out with flu-like symptoms.

They have recently used 3-5-2 more than last season’s 4-3-3 due to injuries to the wingers and to the lack of quality upfront. They added a little wrinkle to their offensive strategy by acquiring Leandro Greco, who can play as advanced midfielder and support the strikers better. Mandorlini is starting to use Sala in the midfield more and he’s an interesting player. Differently from other small teams, Hellas Verona have a lot of quality in the midfield, which is now their main (only?) strength. Furthermore, they are tall, tough and physical, thanks to players like Rafa Marquez and Guillermo Rodriguez who add a lot of muscles.

On the road, they are in the middle of the pack, having won two games, drawn four times and lost thrice. Last year, when Hellas visited the Turin, Mandorlini built a bunker to avoid conceding, he might do the same again. In any case, Juventus will have to pay attention to the counter-attacking game, which, as usual, is the sole weapon of this kind of team against a top club. They have fast players (Nico Lopez clearly stands out, but also Sala, Valoti, Christodoulopoulos and Toni runs hard when he sees an opening to score) and they have the technical skills to find them in the open field. They shoot a lot from distance and it’s better not to be caught off guard. They don’t score a lot, but they are good in protecting the lead.

Predicted Lineup:

3-5-2 Rafael; Sorensen, Marquez, Rodriguez; Martic, Campanharo, Tachtsidis, Valoti, Brivio; Saviola, Nene.

Injuries:

Jankovic (ankle), Obbadi (thigh), Ionita (thigh), Gomez (thigh), Moras (thigh), Toni (flu).

 

Formation

25hella

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 14, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    Great game where we will hopefully see all the squad players get a chance along with the youngsters.

    Expecting big things from Matiello and hopefully coman can play with freedom in his best position

    K/O is tomorrow at 8pm GMT

  • Avatar
    NedvedSRB January 14, 2015 at 6:31 pm

    Should be a routine victory 🙂
    FJ!!!

  • Avatar
    Luca Moleta January 14, 2015 at 6:56 pm

    Hopefully we see a good performance from players like Coman and Morata to show their potential so Allegri will trust them more to give them some more starts. But we can’t go to quick with Morata, because if shows how good he can be to soon, Real Madrid will want him back. Interested to see Mattiello, he impressed me against Lazio, and now he has a big opportunity to back it up with another impressive performance.

  • Avatar
    JuveMondo January 14, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    Excited to see these guys play! Coman always a spark, hope he gets a goal tomorrow

  • Avatar
    JuveMarchisio January 15, 2015 at 6:31 am

    Lichtsteiner, Bonucci and Marchisio, our 3 warriors, who can play always 😉

    • Avatar
      Peter January 15, 2015 at 8:31 am

      Also Padoin. He was born ready.

      • Avatar
        JuveMarchisio January 15, 2015 at 11:34 am

        he was born full stop

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 5:28 pm

    UNLEASH THE COMAN !

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo January 15, 2015 at 6:23 pm

      Reports have said that seba and pepe may get the start ahead of coman. I’d be pretty disappointed if that’s the case

      • Avatar
        Moderator January 15, 2015 at 6:58 pm

        they said 4-3-3…..then somwhere else said 4-3-1-2….shoulkd know shortly… 😉

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 15, 2015 at 5:46 pm

    Looking forward to this game,come on juve!

  • Avatar
    jaymz hetf January 15, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    I want to see Pepe…

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 15, 2015 at 6:51 pm

    JUVE JUVE JUVE JUVE

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    CONFIRMED – 4-3-3 (Coman on the bench)

    Starting XI: Storari, Lichtsteiner, Bonucci, Ogbonna, Padoin, Pepe, Marchisio, Pogba, Pereyra, Morata, Giovinco.

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino January 15, 2015 at 7:16 pm

      too strong for verona

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 7:32 pm

      Pepeeeee i still love him! Also happy to see Giovinco play in the coppa.

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    Confirmed starting XIs:

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 15, 2015 at 7:44 pm

      Wtf, allegri go home you’re drunk 😛
      Weird line-up and no youngsters 🙁

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 15, 2015 at 7:45 pm

    even for this no Coman, this is giving me the sads, I don’t want old washed up Pepe there

    • Avatar
      Luca Moleta January 15, 2015 at 7:47 pm

      I don’t think Allegri knows our history with french players. It is pretty sad that we are just wasting talent like Coman.

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 7:57 pm

        Isn’t he just too young right now? Not everyone is as strong as Pogba mentally.

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 15, 2015 at 8:02 pm

        We re not wasting him. Theres other players on the team too who train just as hard as he does. Hes only 17, his time will come.

        • Avatar
          JuveMarchisio January 16, 2015 at 8:09 am

          I agree, it’s good to push him to fight for every playing minute. And training all day with juventini is good for his development.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino January 15, 2015 at 8:10 pm

        He was a Platini fan, I doubt that 😛 Just no faith in youngsters

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    Funny fact: When i wear my black and white jersey, we wear blue at home, when i wear my blue jersey we wear black and white at home.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 8:01 pm

    Forza Juve!!!! Forza Simone Pepe!!!

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio January 16, 2015 at 8:10 am

      Remember Pepe against Napoli ?!

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Gio 1-0

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 8:07 pm

      Yup 😀 Should have been saved though. I can’t make a happy goaaaaaaal comment anymore, i gotta avoid spoiling xD

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Pereyra!!!! 2-0

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Great goal…..

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 15, 2015 at 8:22 pm

    First Torres gets a brace, Gio score and now even Pereyra?? :p

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    That tackle by Nene was so dirty… Got a deserved yellow, maaaaaybe deserved even more.

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 January 15, 2015 at 8:24 pm

    Does anyone have a good stream please?

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 8:34 pm

    Pereyra….mama mia

    https://vine.co/v/Ojuu7Au5Zg1

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 8:35 pm

      And we lack finishing qualities? Pereyra is our man!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    Is Giovinco showing himself as goalgetter today? 😀

  • Avatar
    NedvedSRB January 15, 2015 at 8:49 pm

    Great first half, excellent Giovinco. Game is practically over, now I want to see Coman in the second half, and hopefully he scores too 🙂

  • Avatar
    juve_mike January 15, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    we’re playing a 4-3-3 right? With Giovinco on the left? It’s sad he’s not played there more often.
    Didn’t he play on the wing for Parma?

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 8:59 pm

      I thought behind the strikers. Didn’t watch him much at Parma though all i know for sure is his free kicks were brilliant back then.

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    Coman needs to come on and tear them apart even more in the second half.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    Pogbaaaaa!!!!! 4-0

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    hahaahhahahaa

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 9:11 pm

      Goalkeeper got bitched lol

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    Morata 5-1!!!

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 January 15, 2015 at 9:21 pm

    Great game by Juve so far! Giovinco is playing really good

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 15, 2015 at 9:36 pm

    COOOOMAAAAN CHE GOALL!!!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 9:36 pm

    WUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUT MRNBCAWKJJCSHF,S,FSCFMHBHSV GERCDB FBN NM,DN , FBJGSADIQcG KQVBD BDXMSBF I THINK MY HEAD CRASHED BECAUSE OF THIS BEAUTY KINGSLEYYYYYY COMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN

  • Avatar
    Luca Moleta January 15, 2015 at 9:36 pm

    COMAN GOAL!!!

  • Avatar
    JuveMondo January 15, 2015 at 9:36 pm

    WHAT A GOAL!! COMANNNNN

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 January 15, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    What a beauty !!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 15, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    Should have been a penalty. Was not offside and nowhere near the ball with the tackle.

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 January 15, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    What a goal from coman though, great goal !

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    Mama mia….coman

  • Avatar
    Luca Moleta January 15, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    Good game, nice to see Coman getting some minutes and seeing him make some good runs and seeing him score a brilliant goal. Gio was also fantastic today, scoring a brace and winning a penalty and really showing how good he can be when played on the wing. Licht was great today always contributing to attack and also making sure he tracked back. and Pogba was also world class today.

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 15, 2015 at 10:15 pm

    Match review is here with all match highligjhts + video : https://www.juvefc.com/juventus-6-1-hellas-verona-coppa-italia-match-review/ switch over – would love to here your thoughts on the game