Match Preview Coppa Italia

Juventus v Napoli Coppa Italia Match Preview

February 27, 2017 - 7:42 pm

juventus

Juventus v Napoli

Coppa Italia –  Tuesday, 28th February – 19:45 GMT – Juventus Stadium


juventus

Juventus

It was a routine 2-0 win against Empoli at the weekend, however Juve face a tougher task when they welcome a wounded Napoli side for the first-leg of the Coppa Italia semi-final.

Despite taking 50 mins to open the scoring, the result never looked in doubt against Empoli. The away side played as well as they could, defending doggedly and limiting Juve for a large portion of the game, however the inevitable opener came courtesy of Mario Mandzukic before Alex Sandro put the result beyond doubt. The Bianconeri rarely needed to exert themselves, controlling the game with relative ease and creating chances through the flanks. The squad was rotated to a certain extent, meaning we’ll likely see a revised Juve back line for the visit of Napoli.

Speaking ahead of the game, Allegri dropped some hints on the tactics and approach to the match, as well as the possible starters.

“We will face a Napoli who will be very angry about Saturday’s defeat against Atalanta. It is not the case that in three days they have lost everything they have done well in these two years, so it will be a complicated game.

“And above all it is an Italian Cup semi-final, where the most important thing is not conceding goals, especially, because we play the first match at home. We have five defenders, who I will rate today. Someone will rest through necessity, then I will decide who to play.

“I have to evaluate the whole team. Yesterday, those who have not played had good workout, there will be some changes, then today I will assess what those will be.

“I always say that during the season it is impossible to win all the games at the beginning. At the end of the season there few matches won in the first half and a few won in the second half.

“The most important thing is that the team had gone with this new formation with the intention of opening up the games at the beginning. The danger is getting to get to a game where maybe you score early, then lose little patience and become nervous because maybe you had not opened the game enough.

“This is something that did not happen and should not happen, because when the team is aware of their strengths, they manage the game well mentally.

“The boys showed this in Crotone where we were 0-0 and only opened up the game in the second half, as what happened with Empoli and as will happen again later on.

“Tomorrow we hope to open up the game right away, as although there are 95 minutes to win games, you can get frustrated and lose faith if you don’t do so right away The strength of a team, the strength of our team has to be the one.

“It’s normal that the other day Dybala, when he came on, is a player that connects the two midfielders and attackers.

“So we have more geometry, more passing options and technical quality in the field, which is what counts in the end, the important thing is not to lose the strength and unity of the team.

“So  Sturaro has qualities and characteristics different from Mandzukic when playing outside, Mandzukic doesn’t have the characteristics of Dybala when playing near Higuain. It is normal that in the middle they spend a little less time together.

“The most important thing is that the team is always tidy and not doesn’t lose strength.”

Marchisio, Sturaro and Benatia have been ruled out through injury and illness while Gigi Buffon will be rested, meaning Neto will start a second match in succession. Dani Alves started at the weekend so we’ll probably see Lichtsteiner at right-back with Bonucci and Chiellini in the centre and Asamoah at left-back. Pjanic and Khedira seem the best pairing in the centre while Cuadrado, Dybala, Mandzukic and Higuain will hope to pick up where they left off.

 

Probable lineup: 

4-2-3-1: Neto; Lichtsteiner, Bonucci, Chiellini, Asamoah; Khedira, Pjanic; Cuadrado, Dybala, Mandzukic; Higuain.

Injuries:

Mandragora (foot)

Suspensions:

None.

 

 

Napoli

Probable lineup: 

4-3-3: Reina; Maggio, Koulibaly, Albiol, Ghoulam; Zielinski, Diawara, Hamisk; Callejon, Milik, Insigne

Injuries:

Allan, Tonelli

Suspensions:

Hysaj

 

Formations

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    Xx RForcE xX February 27, 2017 at 11:24 pm

    Mandragora was called up for the match, so he is no more injured.I hope Cuadrado will be dropped.

    • Avatar
      ho Hi February 28, 2017 at 12:59 am

      No he wont. Suffice to say. Give Pjaca more chances.

      • Avatar
        Xx RForcE xX February 28, 2017 at 4:33 am

        hope dies last lol

      • Avatar
        E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 3:29 pm

        As Rugani Pjaca will be important next season. He is still young and learning giving a very decent display against Porto. But on other matches he showed his limitations tactically. Thats what keeping Allegri from giving him more time and of course there is Mr No Good Manzu 🙂 who is not going to settle for the bench.

    • thegutterpoet
      thegutterpoet February 28, 2017 at 10:49 am

      Dropped!? Juan had one of his best games for a while at the weekend. At least to my eyes…

      • Avatar
        Xx RForcE xX February 28, 2017 at 5:58 pm

        did you have the eyes opened lol, nope , cant agree, 5 out of ten at best

  • thegutterpoet
    thegutterpoet February 28, 2017 at 10:51 am

    I can but hope that we finally have a solid test of our new credentials, yet clearly ALlegri is placing the coppa third on the list of priorities else Buffon would be playing. We need to find ourselves and grow more, and to do so, we need to face top opposition. Napoli fit the bill. Smarting from their Caldara misery they will be extra motivated to perform at their optimum.

    • Avatar
      Storm February 28, 2017 at 11:31 am

      According to your logic (and I agree) how do you rate the chance of Allegri giving Pjaca >30 min?

    • Avatar
      E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 3:22 pm

      We have good players on the bench poet Neto was put in goal against Empoli for he will be ready for Napoli. Pjaca would need some time else others will be rested on Sat/Sun.Bet Pjaca will start in the weekend.

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 8:38 pm

    352 the return !!! And we are 0 1 at half time

    • Avatar
      Sebastián Quiceno February 28, 2017 at 8:51 pm

      Worst than it being 5-3-2 is the fact it is an improvised unrehearsed 5-3-2. Still i wont go overpessimistic on it yet. Like I always say, as long as they pull it off, although they are not being able to as of now.

  • Avatar
    Juventino Persa February 28, 2017 at 8:40 pm

    Allegri being Allegri, doing it again! when the damn 4-2-3-1 is working so good, why switching to 3-4-1-2 instead??? Juve’s only way to play the game has been long ball from Bonucci to Mandzukic, which is not working! He recongnized the error and asking Barzagli to play as RB and Licht as RAM, but neither are! When we had Pjaca and Cuadrado ready on the bench again Allegri doing his classic coward superdefensive lineup, which may cost us one title! Better clean up the mess in the second half! Dybala has rarly toched the ball in Napoli’s half!

    • Avatar
      E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 8:41 pm

      Its not a 3412 its a 352. If its a 3412 manzu should be centre foward.

      • Avatar
        Juventino Persa February 28, 2017 at 8:42 pm

        he is, but he always drops deep while defending, almost like LM!

        • Avatar
          E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 8:44 pm

          Thats why is a 352 the other formation is super offensive with two static cf and a cam. We never play like that.

          • Avatar
            Juventino Persa February 28, 2017 at 8:49 pm

            the points is 3 CBs take your options upfront and every single game we lost this season it was with 3 CBs!!!

        • Avatar
          E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 8:46 pm

          Its the most fu….g boring system. I thought we got rid of it but you see its back again.

      • Avatar
        Sebastián Quiceno February 28, 2017 at 8:58 pm

        Were it a true 3-4-1-2 I would be delighted. It is a dream of mine to see at lest see how it fits Juve.

        • Avatar
          E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 9:03 pm

          I dont think you well see it with Allegri

          • Avatar
            Sebastián Quiceno February 28, 2017 at 9:21 pm

            I wanted it whenever BBC was at its finest. At this point in time is fine if we stick with 4-2-3-1, 4-3-1-2, as long as we don´t go back to 5-3-2, 6-3-1 everything is fine.

          • Avatar
            Juventino Persa February 28, 2017 at 9:42 pm

            before first goal of Napoli, it was basically 5-2-1-2!!

          • Avatar
            Sebastián Quiceno February 28, 2017 at 10:52 pm

            Watching a cold review of the game you were right we didn´t play the old 3-5-2 per se but a back 3 with 2 CMs although it looked as bad or unrehearsed as the old 3-5-2.

  • Avatar
    Sebastián Quiceno February 28, 2017 at 9:11 pm

    Long live pepe Reina. Thank God (x2).

  • Avatar
    Juventino Persa February 28, 2017 at 9:13 pm

    Now it is Juve!

  • Avatar
    Sebastián Quiceno February 28, 2017 at 9:30 pm

    Here comes Pjaca as SS, just so we don´t forget where we come from.

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 9:35 pm

    I dont think it was a penalty for Napoli to say it all.I did not see any contact

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef February 28, 2017 at 10:33 pm

    I am seeing the aftermatch Napoli is sayin that the match was conditioned by the referee in a disgusting way. I say when we win the champions i will stop watching this farse of italian football. I say to any other fucking supporter who supports any other team. Fu.k off and fu..k you….Calciopoli was a farse we are fuck..g back to eat your arse!!!!! i wish you are seeing what i am seeing on Rai. Goodnight tifosi Juventini

    • Avatar
      Sebastián Quiceno March 1, 2017 at 3:03 am

      They bow down (even after going ahead on the scoresheet) and get humiliated by R. Madrid without giving up a fight and they don´t say a word about it. They pull another crappy game out of their hat against us and suddenly they feel deserving. If that is how salty losers they are I think its better for them if they go back to Serie B, there they can deservedly win all they can. Get real Arsenal you are lucky we didn´t run you over once and for all had Max not experimented a new system we would have obliterated you, literally. You are a team without italian pride, you just don´t have it in you and are an embarrasment for italian football. I am sorry Arsenal but you are no match for us Juve. Get out of here.

  • Avatar
    Sebastián Quiceno March 1, 2017 at 3:23 am

    They bow down (even after going ahead on the scoresheet) and get humiliated by R. Madrid without giving up a fight and they don´t say a word about it.

    They pull another crappy game out of their hat against us and suddenly they feel deserving. If that is how salty losers they are I think its better for them if they go back to Serie B, there they can deservedly win all they want.

    Get real Arsenal you are lucky we didn´t run you over once and for all had Max not experimented a new system we would have obliterated you, literally. You are a team without italian pride, you just don´t have it in you and you are the ones that are shameful and damaging for italian football. Arsenal honestly you are no match for us Juve.

    Get outta here you are a fake Italian team.

    • Avatar
      E.Micallef March 1, 2017 at 5:45 am

      You see my friend its incredible that you shoot at goal once and say you deserve to win. On Dybala it was 100 % penalty yet for Napoli it was not. On Cuadrado Reina touched the ball or so he claimed. Whatt?????. The incredible part of the story is they believe it. All our goals came from their mistakes but they dont blame themselves they blame the ref.

      I thought Inter have reached the bottom of unsportmanship but now comes a new contender.

      Before you write anything on the match on this site look at the disgusting way Napoli have taken this loss. As Chiellini said we have much more testing games then this against Napoli starting at Udine. They are all better than them half arsed team.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino March 1, 2017 at 9:54 am

    Well fuck, I thought the game was tonight – I was looking forward to a Juve game on my birthday!

    • Avatar
      ho Hi March 1, 2017 at 11:19 am

      Happy Birthday!

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino March 1, 2017 at 1:04 pm

        Thanks man 🙂

    • Avatar
      Peter March 1, 2017 at 1:11 pm

      Happy Birthday!

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino March 1, 2017 at 4:21 pm

        Thanks Peter 🙂

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino March 1, 2017 at 10:13 am

    I’m so disappointed about the whole Napoli attitude, though it is nothing new. I understand and even respect their intense desire to beat us, they are deeply passionate about that, obsessed even.

    But man, they all act like spoiled brats who didnt get the birthday present they wanted. Always Napoli or Inter waving that “just blame the ref”-flag. Take responsibility for your own mistakes and shortcomings. How on earth do they expect to grow and evolve if they continue wailing about the same shit over and over.

    Nobody like to lose, fumbling a lead and conceding 2 penalties. The whole press silence thing is stupid and so were their reactions breaking it.

    No class whatsoever

  • Avatar
    ho Hi March 1, 2017 at 11:18 am

    I hope to see Rugani the next games.