Match Preview Coppa Italia

Juventus v Torino Coppa Italia Match Preview

December 15, 2015 - 8:43 pm

juventustorino

Juventus v Torino

Coppa Italia –  Wednesday, 16th December- 19:45 GMT – Juventus Stadium


juventus

Juventus

What a turnaround. It was exactly three months ago that young Paulo Dybala was facing the cameras, imploring supporters to keep faith following a wretched start to the season, which saw the Bianconeri collect a solitary point from their opening three games.   “You only get out of a period like this by working hard.” Dybala told Tuttosport back in September. “We know that this isn’t an easy moment for us, our fans aren’t used to seeing Juve with just one point after three matches. But if we can turn this situation around, it’ll be even more amazing.”

Fast forward three months and Juve have leapfrogged Roma in the standings, laid waste to Man City (home and away) to qualify to the last 16 of the Champions League and are breathing down the necks of league leaders Inter. When you add in last weekend’s emphatic 3-1 victory over Fiorentina, there’s plenty of cause for optimism, especially when you consider the nature of said victory. A penalty converted in the opening minutes of the match was La Viola’s only shot on target and while they dominated the possession, 62% – 38%, Juve still managed 6 efforts on goal, finding the net with 3 of them.

Next up, we face city rivals Torino in our first Coppa Italia match of the season and there’s expected to be a long awaited start for some of the squad players. Speaking ahead of the match, Max Allegri revealed some of his choices for tomorrow’s game.

“Dybala could rest tomorrow, as he’s played a lot of games,” Allegri admitted in his pre-match Press conference.

“He’s available. Two of Mandzukic, Zaza and Morata will play. Everyone is fine, so whoever plays tomorrow will do well.

“Zaza is very good, as is Morata, the same for Mandzukic who is in good physical condition, but I think the whole team is going through a good period.

“Morata-Zaza? They could be a pair, they can happily play together.”

“Tomorrow, Neto and Rugani will play. After that I’ll see how the three defenders are who have played so far, between Bonucci, Chiellini and Barzagli.

“Technically speaking Rugani is a player who can play… he had a good game at left centre-back in a friendly this summer, or he can calmly play at right centre-back.

“He’s a lad who has improved a lot, so tomorrow he’ll be ready to play.

“As for the injured players, Hernanes did almost everything with the team yesterday, so we’ll see today.

“He’s finally recovered, let’s see if he’ll be available tomorrow, if not he’ll do extra work ahead of Sunday’s game at Carpi.

“Lemina went to Barcelona yesterday to be seen, unfortunately he has a problem with his patellar tendon, and when that flares up it’s a problem.

“Pereyra is making a journey in his injury recovery, and we’ll see in the New Year. The others are all available.”

Judging from that, it’s safe to say we’ll see Neto start in goal, with a back three of Rugani, Chiellini and possibly Bonucci. Given that we’re sticking with the 3-5-2, I’d expect Lichtsteiner and Sandro to play either side of a midfield with Khedira, Marchisio and Pogba. With Dybala rested, it’ll be Zaza and Morata up front.

Probable lineup:

3-5-2: Neto; Rugani, Bonucci, Chiellini; Lichtsteiner, Khedira, Marchisio, Pogba, Sandro; Morata, Zaza.

Injuries:

Pereyra (hamstring), Asamoah (knee)

Suspended:

None.

 

torino

Torino

Probable lineup:

3-4-2-1: Padelli; Bovo, Glik, Moretti; Peres, Acquah, Vives, Baselli, Molinaro; Quagliarella, Belotti

Injuries:

None

Suspended:

None

 

Formation

83torino

 

Poll

[socialpoll id=”2316487″]

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino December 15, 2015 at 9:11 pm

    I hope to see a line up with Rugani in it, along with some others who need match time. Asamoah, Khedira, Lemina if they are fit. Morata and Zaza up front. Cuadrado and Sandro on the flanks. Maybe Neto in goal too.

    And a great game against Torino to keep the confidence high! 2-0 win

    • Avatar
      Moderator December 15, 2015 at 9:27 pm

      Rugani and Neto will definitely start – i think zaza is in contention to be there as well seeing as dybala is rested and Mandzukic played at the weekend.

      Lemina is in Barca and ASamoah is injured again –

      I love derby games, they take on a whole other meaning

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino December 15, 2015 at 9:30 pm

        Rugani and Neto starters, you sure of that? I would love to see that! Yeah Allegri said two of Mandzukic morata and Zaza will start. No Lemina or Asamoah then 🙁 then sturaro would be nice, pogba/claudio probably could use a rest

        Yeah derbies always add an extra spice for us fans and players hopefully feel pumped too

        • Avatar
          Moderator December 15, 2015 at 9:40 pm

          Read the comments in the post above and you’ll see 🙂 Allegri confirmed that they will start. The press are saying we stick with the strong midfield 3 – Sandro to start in place of Evra, Lichty on the right again – strong XI overall because it’s Torino after all 🙂

          Lets get it done

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino December 15, 2015 at 9:46 pm

            Sorry didnt read it yet, just went straight to posting :p

            Reading it tomorrow though, I like your previews

          • Avatar
            JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 4:44 am

            I feel like a Rugani fanboy and the kid hasn’t even started for us yet! Hopefully he is relaxed and plays like he can tomorrow. Very excited to watch him

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 7:46 am

        Lemina is getting looked at by doctors in Barcelona? Don’t we have doctors? I never quite understand this.

        • Avatar
          JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 4:14 pm

          Italy is notorious for having bad doctors/medicine but I feel like that wouldn’t be the case for a private company like Juve

          • Avatar
            DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 4:43 pm

            Yeah you’d think a club like Juve would have decent enough doctors to look after his injury, but players getting helped in a foreign country happens alot.

          • Avatar
            JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 4:47 pm

            I’d understand if he went to france but who knows I’m sure there’s a good reason for it

  • Avatar
    fiQ December 16, 2015 at 4:32 am

    Any news on Caceres? I suppose he isn’t starting tomorrow then.

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 4:46 am

      I believe he is in the lineup so hopefully he is ready to go tomorrow. Barzagli has been very reliable this year but he can’t play every game with his aging body/potential minor injuries so it would be nice to see him get a blow if caceres is up for it. At the same time though we can’t just throw anybody out there (if not fit) it is torino after all and we always need to win the derby

      • Avatar
        fiQ December 16, 2015 at 5:17 am

        That’s true. I think Barzagli will be displaced as he and Rugani share similar skill sets, and I think CBR is what we’d see, or CRB. I feel Rugani is better at being a Sweeper mid CB than an actual RCB though.

        I also think Padoin will feature; he has a knack of being called up in these Coppa fixtures (unfortunately).

        • Avatar
          JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 5:25 am

          I could see it but at the same time we need a leader in the MF since khedira is just coming back from injury and sturaro has the same qualities (generalizing here). I think we need someone who can control the tempo a bit. I think we see one of Marchiso/Pogba, Sturaro, khedira with sandro and licht on the flanks. Hopefully zaza and morata up top and then Caceres/Barzagli, bonucci, Rugani. I like Leo in the middle still since he is our best playmaker back there. If chiellini and Barza played with Rugani then I would put him in the middle also but I don’t think that back 3 would play together all too much. Our CBs see the ball so much that we need a Leo back there to give us a calming sense. I also saw that Leo, chiello, and Rugani all won awards for best defenders in serie A last year so it seems funny now that the “best” CB from last year is yet to start a game for Juve. I know why having the other 3 in front of him but hopefully that will make him even better. I want Rugani to be the future so badly. I love the italian backbone that Juve always has and hopefully sturaro and rugani can lead the new generation in the future.

  • thegutterpoet
    thegutterpoet December 16, 2015 at 9:50 am

    Great preview, Chief…Will be wicked to see, finally, Rugani. From the snippets I have seen of him and the many reports I have read, he seems most likely a possible replacement for Barzagli, as in brilliant composure, concentration and tidy on the ball. Will also be interesting to see Neto, although hopefully he won’t have much to do…yet…Toro have been in decent form for a while, just lacking that bit of luck, which I hope doesn’t appear this evening.

    Shame Lemina is still troubled by a tricky knee. For it would have been good to see him, although I will be more happy to see Khedira given opportunity to find his rhythm. We have not yet seen anywhere near his best, and if he can gain full fitness and match sharpness, I believe he will prove a wonderful signing. Despite his absence of pace, he has tremendous strength and a sterling mentality. He knows how to win games, dictate the play and is fearless.

    I’d like to see Sturaro also given at least half hour, as well as Morata starting. We need to give the spaniard especially an opportunity to find form. Still, given its a local derby, the fight will likely be quite brutal, so even if we lose, my main aim is to avoid any further injury.

    • Avatar
      Deuces December 16, 2015 at 1:14 pm

      do you have Hemroids up your ass seems like you invist so much time in this shit

      • Avatar
        Peter December 16, 2015 at 2:02 pm

        Strange to see someone putting effort into something they do? 😉

      • Avatar
        JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        There’s just no need for these kinds of posts. He’s a fantastic writer who likes discuss his passions. Maybe you don’t have those kinds of connections in your life or else you’d be able to see why he does what he does. If that’s the case then I feel sorry for you.

      • Avatar
        Moderator December 16, 2015 at 3:47 pm

        Thats your first and only warning. Theres no place for that here

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino December 16, 2015 at 7:48 pm

        His articles are almost poetry and a joy to read, you tard.

    • Avatar
      Moderator December 16, 2015 at 3:51 pm

      There was a certain ingenuity to Lemina’s early displays – after he settled in, there was something to be said for the way he just recycled the ball. Rob, pass, rob pass….it was enjoyable to watch someone do something simple and do it well. I liked that in his play. I;m hoping he returns and returns better. there’s something there.

      I agree with you on Khedira. He’s yet to be at his absolute best and i;m hoping we say that just in time for Bayern. He was dominant against Bologna, ran the show from kick off.

      I have faith in the team – i think we can win this, and win it well. Morata and Zaza to get on scoresheet tonight

  • Avatar
    Deuces December 16, 2015 at 1:15 pm

    how Rubentus gonna fair against Torino, Rubentus gonna field second team, thats what media said, the come the day you see all the first team players, Rubentous win, then every one say it was second team, fucking rubas

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 2:22 pm

      chi non salta nerazzura eh eh

  • Avatar
    EricJuve December 16, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    As far as the season goes. I see Juventus, Inter, and Fiorentina challenging for the title. I see difficult for us to defeat Bayern as we are not playing a good defensive game.

    Milan should have sign Ranieri. It is either Ancelotti or Ranieri that can bring the team winning again. It will be a good deal to sell.Caceres to Milan.

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 2:21 pm

      I think our defense has looked pretty sharp lately. Shitty goal from a set piece (always a problem for us) and a sketchy penalty but besides that I think we have looked much much better defensively individually and more importantly as a unit

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 6:27 pm

        Plus Llorente has trained and played with our defence, that probably worked against us aswell.

      • Avatar
        EricJuve December 17, 2015 at 1:13 am

        Juventus defense still does not know how to cope with aggressive attacking teams like Bayern. A common problem is the defense being caught out of position by that playing style and from a team that have skillful players like Bayern.

    • Avatar
      fiQ December 16, 2015 at 3:07 pm

      I don’t think we should discount Napoli. They have been playing good football and I think we would see Fiorentina taper off more than Napoli.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino December 16, 2015 at 7:45 pm

        Agreed, Fiorentina will fall soon, Napoli will be top 4 at least

  • Avatar
    KPS235 December 16, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    Hey guys,do you have some good stream? Something like navixsport so i can watch it on phone , many thanks

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 4:13 pm

      I usually cricfree.sx and it has the match posted for later so there should be decent-ish streams but I’m not too sure about if it would work on a mobile device. Sorry but that’s all I got!

    • Avatar
      DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 4:41 pm

      Wiz1.net or cricfree like JuveMondo mentioned is what i use but i also dont know if it works on a phone.

  • Avatar
    Moderator December 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    CONFIRMED Juventus XI : Neto, Rugani, Bonucci, Chiellini, Lichtsteiner, Khedira, Marchisio, Pogba, Alex Sandro, Zaza, Morata.

    • Avatar
      Moderator December 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

      Juventus substitutes: Buffon, Rubinho, Caceres, Barzagli, Evra, Padoin, Sturaro, Hernanes, Cuadrado, Mandzukic, Dybala

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo December 16, 2015 at 6:58 pm

      strong lineup, let’s get the win. Maybe it’s me procrastinating for finals but I’m pumped for this game! Vogliamo vincere ohhhh

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 7:33 pm

      happy to finally see Rugani play.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino December 16, 2015 at 7:44 pm

      Ruganiiiii!!

      I hope torino attacks a lot so Rugani can shine!

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino December 16, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    Wtf is going on in the Coppa these days, Genoa, Palermo, fucking Roma and Fiorentina all lost to Serie B teams or worse xD

  • Avatar
    Moderator December 16, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    Match stream for anyoen that needs it – no need to install any software – ignore the popups: https://www.thefeed2all.eu/watch/395938/1/watch-juventus-vs-torino-fc.html

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Zazaaaa

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Wonderful assist and a wonderful goal

  • Avatar
    Moderator December 16, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    What a sublime finish on that goal – Zaza kocking people out all over the pitch, scoring goals – looks like he;s been in the wars and it’s only 30 minutes in !

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 8:26 pm

      yeah he is fired up. he could easily have had 2 yellow cards.

      • Avatar
        Moderator December 16, 2015 at 8:32 pm

        he’s verging on getting sent off – i;m hoping he survives the 90 because he has it in him to score another one

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    I really want Morata to score today. He needs that.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    Molinaro off

  • Avatar
    Moderator December 16, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    Juve in the lead, Torino down to 10…..

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    Zazaaaaaaaa this is done already. Bye bye Torino.

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 8:55 pm

      Zaza is deadly

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:56 pm

        This is the Zaza we saw at Sassuolo. He can be so good.

        • Avatar
          LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 8:57 pm

          yes great game of him. both goals is great

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    I love seeing that bastard Glik fail

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    And Allegri takes him off before the ref does.

  • Avatar
    Moderator December 16, 2015 at 8:57 pm

    Zazazazazazazazazazazazazaz !!!!!!! I LOVE that big lunatic.

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:00 pm

      You were right, he had 2 goals in him 🙂 Its going to be difficult for Allegri to put him on the bench next game.

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:01 pm

        From Matri, a struggling Quagliarella, Borriello, Bendtner to Dybala Mandzukic Morata and Zaza. Who’d have thought.

        • Avatar
          LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:03 pm

          We have a great and young attack that will only get better. And not to forget Berardi when he comes.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    Klopp??? Surely that was a Juve fan look a like?

    • Avatar
      Moderator December 16, 2015 at 9:04 pm

      you decide Dutch 😉

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:06 pm

        I want to say yes but i cant see him cheering for us with our fans xD

        • Avatar
          LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:07 pm

          Why not, he is a very cheerful guy 🙂

          • Avatar
            DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:09 pm

            Thats what would make me doubt haha. He’s probably putting up a christmas tree at Anfield right now.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    Dybalaaaaa!!! Such dangerous pass again from Sandro, i love this guys crosses.

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    Fuck Messi!!!! We got Dybala 🙂

  • Avatar
    Moderator December 16, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    Dybala – 9 goals, 3 assists – this kid is phenonmenal !

  • Avatar
    Peter December 16, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    NO

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:22 pm

      hahaha.. You didnt miss him either?

      • Avatar
        Peter December 16, 2015 at 9:25 pm

        No I didn’t. Although we do have most of our young players on, I’d still prefer Lemina instead of him.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:25 pm

      Its fine here. Coppa, 10 minutes, 3-0 ahead, its fine if it stays with these appearances. Who am i kidding….

      • Avatar
        Peter December 16, 2015 at 9:26 pm

        At times like these we should provide young players with the time, (even though we have everyone in), not the already experienced 4 times champion.

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    Even Marchisio looked surprised. I bet he was thinking, are you seriously putting Padoin on the field instead of me…

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:26 pm

    PIRLOOOOOO!!!!! Wait..

  • Avatar
    Peter December 16, 2015 at 9:27 pm

    Wow, he’s been practising these! Good job!

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:30 pm

    NOOOOOOO

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:30 pm

    He is worse than Padoin

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:30 pm

    Does Hernanes count as a youngster? :p

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK December 16, 2015 at 9:31 pm

      He only counts as a douchebag

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus December 16, 2015 at 9:32 pm

        Merdanes

    • Avatar
      Peter December 16, 2015 at 9:33 pm

      Only 1 year younger than Padoin… 😛

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ December 17, 2015 at 2:40 am

    VICTORY ^-^

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino December 17, 2015 at 7:22 am

    Napoli and Inter are up against each other in the next round of the Coppa, great! One douche taking out another.

    We will be up against the winner of tonight, Udinese-Lazio. Normally I’d expect Lazio, but at the moment Udinese might be more likely

  • Avatar
    ho Hi December 17, 2015 at 11:31 am

    Please tell me
    How was Rugani?
    How was Juve at all?

    Zaza should stayed shouldnt he?

    • Avatar
      Peter December 17, 2015 at 12:40 pm

      Allegri was right to sub Zaza, he made too many bad tackles. He could have been sent off with a red easily.
      Rugani was solid, I can’t remember anything bad from him. He can definitely replace Barzagli against weaker teams.

      Overall the whole team played well, and after the red card Torino had no chance to win it.

      • Avatar
        ho Hi December 17, 2015 at 1:11 pm

        Thanks Peter

    • Avatar
      Moderator December 17, 2015 at 4:32 pm

      gonna write up a quick recap with the goals as well – will have it live soon 😉

  • Avatar
    ho Hi December 17, 2015 at 11:33 am

    The youtube clips ive seen are incredible. Morata Zaza seems to fit perfect!

    Normally I can see the games via sport1 but they dont show coppa italia.