Match Preview Europa League

Juventus vs Trabzonspor Preview: Going For Broke In The Europa League

February 19, 2014 - 7:59 pm

Juventus

It’s been an odd run of form lately for the Old Lady. The high standards set by the players means that two draws in four matches is a lousy run of form. That said, the team is fresh off of a 3-1 victory over Chievo. Key players like Carlos Tevez and Paul Pogba were rested – Tevez played 18 minutes this weekend, but that’s not much. Conte has spoken recently of the need to rotate his players, as they average a game every three days for the next few months. Clearly we have seen him do this in the Coppa Italia, though that led to Juve’s elimination.

In defense we have a bit of injury trouble as Giorgio Chiellini will miss the match and Andrea Barzagli’s injury status is still up in the air. That leaves us with a backline of Leonardo Bonucci, Angelo Ogbonna, and, Martin Caceres. However, if Barzagli is fit then I would very much expect him to start over Caceres. I expect a full strength wingback pairing of Kwadwo Asamoah and Stephan Lichtsteiner. Though I am very fearful that we could see Mauricio Isla start at right wing back. Of course if that happens I predict a 2-2 draw.

The midfield is where it gets interesting. Claudio Marchisio played a full 90 minutes against Chievo (and had a good match) but it seems that Pogba will be starting, hence why he was rested against Chievo. After that choice, it’s much clearer as Arturo Vidal and Andrea Pirlo are basically automatic starts in their roles. It will be interesting to see the midfield battle tomorrow if Trabzsonspor use a 4-1-4-1 as they are sometimes apt to as this basically sets up mirroring midfield trios. In that case, Juve have the advantage as they have the stronger midfield.

Up top it’s all simple. Fernando Llorente and Tevez start. I am expecting a Llorente goal, because the man can score. Meanwhile Tevez needs to score his first goal in European competition with Juve so hopefully he can do that.

Trabzonspor

First thing’s first – the Trabzsonspor player you are most familiar with (Florent Malouda) is out with an injury. As is Souleymane Bamba. But the other “famous” players are there – Jose Bosingwa and Didier Zokora. Trab have not won a competitive match since December 29th, and their managed resigned recently, leaving them with club legend Hami Mandirali serving as interim coach.

Some have touted Trabzonspor’s unbeaten group stage campaign as proof of their class, and the danger they could pose to Juve. Yes, they won four games and drew two (both against Lazio, 3-3 and 0-0) but the other teams in their group were from Poland and Cyprus. It wasn’t exactly a group of death, and we have seen that Juventus are a much better side this year than Lazio.

Still sometimes clubs step up for the big stage and cause an upset. Doing such that in Juventus Stadium will not be easy. Sure, Galatasaray escaped Juventus Stadium with a 2-2 draw, but Galatasaray are a much stronger side. In fact the Turkish Superlig table says that Galatasaray are 11 points better.

Bottom Line

If Juventus come out ready to win and without “full bellies” then they will most likely win. Trabzonspor are in a bit of a crisis now, and there is already quite a gulf in terms of talent between the sides. Still, as we know very well from the past two European campaigns, small clubs can still cause upsets, especially against Conte’s Juve. Having said that I predict a Juventus win barring a complete lack of urgency from the Bianconeri.

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 19, 2014 at 8:01 pm

    LETS WIN THIS

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino February 19, 2014 at 8:49 pm

      I want a dominant score line against these,lets smack em!!!

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 19, 2014 at 10:09 pm

        I want a win, playing EL should give Serie A some good points to get a 4th CL spot back! And Trab is nowhere near our level, we should win at least 2-0 or 0-2, I dunno where we start

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 20, 2014 at 12:29 am

    anyone know what time the game will be for the west coast of Murica

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal February 20, 2014 at 12:55 am

      starts at 12 my place so 10am at yours.

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 20, 2014 at 1:08 am

        me soo maaad!

        • Avatar
          JuventusVidal February 20, 2014 at 1:19 am

          I kno! i have an ap chem test that goes till 12:30 and then i have to go help the principle at 1:30. im gonna miss the beginning and end of the game. so stupid

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 20, 2014 at 9:56 am

            tell the principle to suck it :p

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 5:44 pm

            Help the principle???? That happens in America???

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 21, 2014 at 12:26 am

            yea… but only kids with a future do that :p

    • Avatar
      adp1974 February 20, 2014 at 2:55 am

      where do you live?

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 20, 2014 at 3:14 am

        California… dont judge me :p

        • Avatar
          adp1974 February 20, 2014 at 3:14 am

          nice…

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 8:55 am

      Its at 18.00 CET,if that is any help 😛

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 20, 2014 at 9:47 am

        it doesnt because i still wont be able to watch it!! c’mon fox sports… who gives a flying f*ck about valencia vs eintrect frankfurt? i need my annual dose of Juve!

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 5:35 pm

          Lol are they broadcasting that game instead? Gee..

  • Avatar
    adp1974 February 20, 2014 at 2:55 am

    Europa League …… Yuck.

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino February 20, 2014 at 1:43 pm

      I want us to win it mate.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 5:43 pm

      I wonder if you’ll be watching

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 February 20, 2014 at 10:59 am

    Juve should win atleast 3-0. Nothing less than that.

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino February 20, 2014 at 1:42 pm

      I agree,i want us to smack these hard.

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino February 20, 2014 at 2:01 pm

    I know people have mixed views on the europa league,but it’s a european competion.I remember being a young lad when juve beat man utd in the semi of the cup winners cup,then porto in the final.It was the season after juve lost in the european cup final against hamburg.Not the same circumstances but just back then juve wanted every trophy going,it would be nice to see all players committed and wanting to win this time round.

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 5:24 pm

    It’s quite depressing seeing all the big teams clash these past two days without Juve :((

    I mean Trabzonspor. Really?

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    So we start at home, then I want 3-0. No goals from them and a solid 2-3goals from us 😛

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    We should win 3-0 and 0-3. Wont happen, knowing Juve, but realistically speaking we should get those numbers atleast.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    Great start from Ogbonna and Peluso…

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH February 20, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    thoughts on the starting lineup?

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    osvaldooo

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    PABOSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS HECK YEAH

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH February 20, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    YEAH YEAH! OSVALDO! FIRST GOAL!

  • Avatar
    JuventusMalta1998 February 20, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    OSVALDOOOOOO

  • Avatar
    Peter February 20, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    Amazing assist…

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    This is the type of finishing we miss a lot.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    1-2 for Fiorentina already, Matri also scored :p

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    missed the first 16mins, so missed the goal by seconds 🙁 was it a nice one?

    • Avatar
      Bianconeri_Archer_PH February 20, 2014 at 6:21 pm

      a lucky one in my opinion. deflected pass from tevez went to osvaldo’s path.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:24 pm

        Oh. Well, it’s a goal xD Hopefully Tevez can score one too, or more

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 6:49 pm

        Lucky pass*. Good finish from Osvaldo.

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Feels like a friendly 🙁

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:28 pm

      At least we’re going for the win, I’m happy with that. They want goals

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:28 pm

    Isla’s looking sharp.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Can someone release me from my french commentator? 😛

    • Avatar
      ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:30 pm

      Lol I’m on the same stream 😛

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:33 pm

        xD

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:33 pm

        Thanks but I cant understand this one at all, I just dont like to listen to french, but i understand it :p

        • Avatar
          JuventusMalta1998 February 20, 2014 at 6:35 pm

          that links in english on mine, link 7 i think

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 6:38 pm

            Oh I got it in Italian I think, lets try again

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 6:50 pm

      Dutch commentator, good quality.

      https://stvstreams.com/6.html

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:16 pm

        And amazing quality, dayum, I’m watching this xD

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH February 20, 2014 at 6:30 pm

    gah so close tevez

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:33 pm

    Ogbonna can’t complete a pass ffs

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 February 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    Ogbonna and Bonucci looking like amateurs.. Not impressed at all.. Juve should kill this game asap.

    • Avatar
      tpick February 20, 2014 at 6:49 pm

      Ogbonna has been our worst player so far.

      • Avatar
        ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:49 pm

        Not worst but not one of the better ones.

  • Avatar
    tpick February 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    It looks to me like we are passing backwards too much and trying to beat them at their own game, counter attacking. We are also giving them too much space.

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 February 20, 2014 at 6:49 pm

    I can’t take anymore of this game…. Everytime I see the Europa League transition it makes me remember what could’ve been…. We would have had a good game against Chelsea 🙁

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 6:51 pm

      Thats weak man

    • Avatar
      Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

      I’ve made something special for you. Hope you will like it!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    Osvaldo haha. Ref whistles, heres the ball 😀

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Now they should chase a second goal more.. don’t wait for the end of the game

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    Peluso, pass. You can’t hit an elephant even if you sit on it xD

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    Bunch of vandals..

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli February 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

      Because juventus fans have never done stuff like that.. Also vandals but still

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm

        So can’t comment on a group of ppl doing this?

        • Avatar
          Marc Dominic Zaroli February 20, 2014 at 7:22 pm

          Nope

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:23 pm

            Guess I just did, sorry mister police

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli February 20, 2014 at 7:25 pm

            You will be

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 8:06 pm

        Not like Belgian did that… Well i don’t think he ever did that atleast, although i am a little suspicious..

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 9:21 pm

          No, but I haven’t been to a lot of games either 😛

    • Avatar
      Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:21 pm

      Actually, I’ve read it that their city code is 61, they do this shit every game at the 61st minute! That’s pretty cool if you have ever been in something like that!

      Btw, what did they do, I only saw the fire things, which is (in my opinion) always great.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:22 pm

        Lol, dafuq. I dont mind fireworks, I do when it interrupts the game. No use

        • Avatar
          Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:24 pm

          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU5LcQRsMAM
          I like these, it’s all about having fun!

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:31 pm

            Not so fun if you keep getting fines for this 😛

          • Avatar
            Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:38 pm

            It seems to me that the great elder leaders of international football prefer supporters who sit through matches quietly and consuming huge amount of overpriced beverage and snacks over those who make games feel like a battlefield with fires and shit.
            Bunch of haters.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:41 pm

            Fireworks in the middle of a crowd isn’t exactly safe. You can have loads of fun without having to blow stuff up

          • Avatar
            Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:45 pm

            I have been around these kind of things a couple of years ago on matches, and I never felt in danger. Yes, fire is hot, so don’t touch it.
            And they simply stop burning after a while, so it isn’t as dangerous as it looks.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:49 pm

            It’s not because you don’t feel in danger it’s safe 😛 It’s just dangerous and possibly deals damage to the stadium too. Fireworks don’t belong in football. Make noise all you want, great sphere is awesome and every game needs it. But I wouldn’t exactly feel safe if some half drunk, crazy guy stood next to me waving and throwing fireworks.

          • Avatar
            Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:52 pm

            The ones I’ve seen were usually well organised, and done by members of supporter clubs (or whatever). It’s not like some random drunkard brings them in and lights them lol.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:53 pm

            Thats no reason why it should be justified

          • Avatar
            Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:56 pm

            Doesn’t make them vandals either. 😛
            It really looks cool from the inside and from outside too. That justifies it. 😛

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:59 pm

            Using unallowed fireworks in a crowded area, seems justified enough to me 😛 And using that reasoning, we should reintroduce gladiators too, it’s fun to watch as well xD

          • Avatar
            Peter February 20, 2014 at 8:01 pm

            Well, I have seen three kind of those:
            One that makes sound and nothing else, a smoker, and a flare. The flare and the smoke are safe in my opinion, and should be allowed because it looks good.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 8:04 pm

            Maybe the clubs should do it instead of fans. The smoke is an utter hindrance, for ppl watching it and in extreme situations for the players too

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    BAN THEM BAN THEM BAN THEM DISQUALIED TRABZONFUCKS

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:29 pm

      😛 commentator said they’ll probably get another fine for that, fun for this club xD

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 February 20, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    Really bad referee btw

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli February 20, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    Woooow Dutch this stream is awesome.. Does this website always have streams on?

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm

      Dutch arent so bad after all 😛 They mostly have streams on. Usually when Juve is on the dutch Fox Sports they have it. I can post it evrytime they have it.

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 February 20, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    And stupid subs too. Why in the hell sub osvaldo? Get peluso off that field damnit

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    Omfg heart attack

    • Avatar
      Peter February 20, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      They should do something about it, or we will end up like we usually do with weaker teams and one goal leads…

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:29 pm

        Yeah it should wake up everyone, it’s not over

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli February 20, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    That was dire by caceres

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 February 20, 2014 at 7:31 pm

    4-3-3 ? Finally, i hope..

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      I was just going to ask the same xD must be, with gio on for marchisio

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino February 20, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    FUCK YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH POGBAAAAAA

  • Avatar
    JuventusMalta1998 February 20, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    POGBAAAAAAA

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon February 20, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    PAUL LABILE POGBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 7:50 pm

    pogBOOM

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 February 20, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    2-0 ! Still, if juve want to get to the final they should really play better. Imo they played poor..

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve February 20, 2014 at 7:53 pm

      It KIND OF seemed like we didnt care at all

  • Avatar
    JosephVitale February 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    I only want to win this tournament so we can face the CL winners in the UEFA Super Cup

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ February 21, 2014 at 12:35 am

      i only want to win this tournament because its still a trophy, im still a Juve fan and i will support them with all my heart whether were in the Cl, serie a, europa league or serie b.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino February 21, 2014 at 10:23 am

      I want Juve to get the European price, to redeem itself after a CL fail, make amends in the financial area (EL isn’t worth THAT much but something is better than nothing at all) and idd, I would love to see Juve play the UEFA Super Cup.

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve February 22, 2014 at 5:36 pm

        Agreed to this more than to Joseph. Look at what Chelsea got from winning the EL.. They came back stronger than before. What will big players think of us if we fuck this up and dont even care about it? Wont give a good image of our club you know..
        And i want a price in europe too.