Match Preview Champions League

Monaco v Juventus Champions League Preview

May 3, 2017 - 8:09 am

juventus

AS Monaco v Juventus

Champions League –  Wednesday, 3rd May – 19:45 GMT – Stade Louis II


juventus

Juventus

It was a heroic performance over two legs against Barcelona that brings us to this point, and the players and supporters can draw strength from that comprehensive display, especially the game at the Camp Nou, where the result never looked in doubt.

Juventus have looked a different proposition in the Champions League this season. The experience of the senior players, the addition of Dani Alves, the shift in tactics and approach, all combined with a genuine belief that this is finally our year has seen them progress to the semi-final stage with an impressive record. Just 2 goals conceded, 17 scored and 10 games unbeaten is a testament to the work that Allegri has done and the efforts of the players throughout the campaign.

There’s no denying that Monaco will be a tough proposition over two-legs and the Juve players have spoken of the respect they have for their young opponents. They’ve beaten Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester City and Borussia Dortmund, showcasing their attacking talent on their way to the semi-finals. Bernardo and Thomas Lemar have been sensational on the flanks, often cutting inside and allowing the full-backs to maraud forward in support of the attack. They’re well-organised, disciplined and every player knows the role of his team mate to the point where they can cover in various positions and never lose their shape. This will not be easy.

For all Monaco’s attacking strength, Juve have played all the better since the shift to 4-2-3-1, using all our attacking players at the same time to maximum effect. Given Monaco’s obvious threat down the flanks, we can be thankful to have players like Mario Mandzukic and Juan Cuadrado, always ready and prepared to track back in the wide positions to cover for the defence, as we saw against Barcelona. The draw against Atalanta was a similar sort of test, in some ways, to this match – A young side, full of confidence and intent, not pandering to the reputation of the team in front of them. We’ll need to be sharper, better organised and more disciplined than we were at the weekend.

Allegri addressed Monaco’s strengths in his pre-game presser:

“Monaco play with great pace on vertical lines. They are very different to two seasons ago.

“The statistics show Monaco have changed both in attack and defence. They tend to do much better in front of goal, whereas two years ago the characteristics of their players suggested much more solidity.

“Leonardo Jardim has done an extraordinary job. They are in the Champions League semi-final, ahead of PSG in Ligue 1, who were one of the big favourites to win the Champions League, so you can’t argue with that.

“Before the injury, Falcao was one of the best centre-forwards in the world. Now he is returning to an extraordinary and very dangerous striker.

“The numbers speak for Monaco. The forwards work well together, Falcao has experience and is a fox in the box, Mbappe has great pace and technique, loves running into space. The whole team has improved over two years.

“They also have very good midfielders and in defence. A team finds success if it is organised, but also has very good players.”

There won’t be too many surprises in the starting XI – Gigi Buffon will start in goal, with Dani Alves and Alex Sandro playing in the full-back roles and Giorgio Chiellini and Leonardo Bonucci playing in the centre of defence. Sami Khedira has been in superb form since the start of the year but his absence through suspension will give Claudio Marchisio a chance to play in midfield alongside Miralem Pjanic. Juan Cuadrado and Mario Mandzukic will play on the wings while Paulo Dybala will sit just behind Gonzalo Higuain.

Probable lineup: 

4-2-3-1: Buffon; Alves, Bonucci, Chiellini, Sandro; Marchisio, Pjanic; Cuadrado, Dybala, Mandzukic; Higuain. 

Injuries: 

Pjaca (knee), Rugani (knee)

Suspensions:

 Khedira

 

 

AS Monaco

For a full Monaco preview, read our Q&A here.

Probable lineup: 

4-4-2: Subasic; Sidibe, Jemerson, Glik, Mendy; Silva, Fabinho, Bakayoko, Lemar; Falcao, Mbappe

Injuries: 

Boschilia, Carrillo.

Suspensions:

None

 

 

Formation

You Might Also Like

  • thegutterpoet
    thegutterpoet May 3, 2017 at 9:59 am

    Solid write-up as always, my friend. And finally I will force myself to rise with the witches at 430am to catch the game here in Melbourne live. I will thereafter be haggard and unruly in the workplace, yet I quite enjoy the giddiness which comes with mega fatigue, I laugh more than moan in such circumstances…

    And yet, this game will be tricky. On form and on paper. We are the stronger side yet they have nothing to lose, everything to gain. It is important to score, yet this is always the case, and I have confidence and hope that they have yet to face as potent an attacking or defensive unit as ourselves this term. I am also quite jolly to find Marchisio in the ranks, for this will be his biggest game since returning fro injury. And in his role loosely as regista/ fulcrum Pjanic will find more space. We could be absolutely devastating on the break.

    I cannot imagine us standing off as much as we did in Barcelona and whilst we expelled more energy than was hoped against Atalanta, we were clearly holding back, especially in the first half.

    As always, al I can hope for and demand is that we give our all…

  • Avatar
    Xx RForcE xX May 3, 2017 at 1:52 pm

    a bit arrogant statement that the result never looked in doubt at Nou Camp, and another thing i find a bit funny – cuadrado’s defensive work?average at best.we all know his “defensive skills”.However I hope for great performance from whole squad
    tonight and hopefully they take the atalanta match as a warning and finally, Higuain will perform, cos this guy is really starting to piss me of with his inability to perform in important games.Fingers crossed.

    • Avatar
      Mauro Zuppelli May 3, 2017 at 8:46 pm

      I beg you to please let higuain piss you off again before next game!!:) VAMOSS

  • Avatar
    Mauro Zuppelli May 3, 2017 at 3:53 pm

    For those interested: Moise Kean is playing for Italy u17 atm, maybe fun to watch his progress before Juve’s match. Also a good way to have something to do to keep the nerves down for tonight!!

    FINO ALLA FINE!

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 4:04 pm

    Hands on heart peaple. We expect to win this one. For heavens sake. We faced the most impressive trio barely a few days ago. Yes Monaco scored 6 against conceding 6 against city still we are miles ahead. MILES. All of us expect a win. We cant fail this year. 3 games to go.

    • Avatar
      Xx RForcE xX May 3, 2017 at 4:16 pm

      nothing is granted for now.

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 6:42 pm

    Come on!!!!!!!!!!

  • thegutterpoet
    thegutterpoet May 3, 2017 at 6:42 pm

    Not keen at all on Barzagli playing as an uncomfortable RB. He has been far from impressive of late, barely played consistently. A risk by Allegri, though I suppose he feels more defensive assurance from Alves whilst maintaining an attacking threat. He lacks Juan’s pace though…and I do not find him anywhere near as defensively solid as Lichsteiner. Still…in Allegri we trust.

    Forza Barzagli.

  • Avatar
    ho Hi May 3, 2017 at 6:46 pm

    Lets not hope the ref is barca fan…

  • Avatar
    Praval May 3, 2017 at 6:59 pm

    Our passing seems to be slick. Could have finished a couple of moves

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 3, 2017 at 7:02 pm

    Good old Gigi staying strong

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 3, 2017 at 7:04 pm

    Hopefully the “that was almost a great goal” theme ends for Gonzalo tonight

    • Avatar
      Storm May 4, 2017 at 7:10 am

      and so it did

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 7:10 pm

    Barzagli is really being troubled

    • Avatar
      Praval May 3, 2017 at 7:11 pm

      And Higuain not able to create any trouble

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 7:13 pm

        He just needs to be in the right place at the right time

        • Avatar
          Praval May 3, 2017 at 7:14 pm

          Thank God! He does!!!

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 7:15 pm

            Hahaha and that’s what I was talking about

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino May 3, 2017 at 7:17 pm

      I really dont get why lichtsteiner isnt used, Alves is playing right winger and somehow Barzagli as rb is preferred over a natural one in Lichtsteiner? Odd choice

      • Avatar
        JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 7:20 pm

        On paper he does seem like the better defensive option, but in practicality he can’t match the pace of Monaco wingers.

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino May 3, 2017 at 7:30 pm

          Indeed, it makes little sense to bring in the slowest CB to fill the role of RB. Especially against this young and speedy Monaco. Yet, I love Barzagli. I just dont see why Allegri makes the choice

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 7:14 pm

    Gonzalooooooooo

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 3, 2017 at 7:15 pm

    YEEEESSS GONZALOOO

  • Avatar
    ho Hi May 3, 2017 at 7:30 pm

    That fucking megaphone!!

  • thegutterpoet
    thegutterpoet May 3, 2017 at 7:39 pm

    solid first half. tactics spot on. Barzagli Higuain and Marchisio all looking off their game. We will make more chances…would like to see Lichsteiner come in and Cuadrado later on.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 8:00 pm

    Higuain!!!!! 2-0

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino May 3, 2017 at 8:00 pm

    Oh boy I love that sour expression on Gliks face

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon May 3, 2017 at 8:08 pm

    If Monaco don’t time this game, they might as well bring their youth team to Turin

  • Avatar
    Dar Black May 3, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    Cometh the hour, cometh the man. Really pleased for Higuain. Probably paid back most of the transfer fee tonight! (assuming we don’t mess up in the return). No smiles in the poker halls of Monaco tonight then 🙂

    And to think of all that fussing and worrying by Gerald about how deadly Monaco are! It’s simple, we are a better team than they are. Teams win matches, not individual players.

    I think I mentioned before in a post my theory which is coming shockingly true 🙂
    – Real seem to have Atletico’s number (yes, check…)
    – We seem to have Monaco’s number (yes, check…)
    – We have Real’s number (and win the final – to be confirmed)

    Easy really….

    • Avatar
      Storm May 4, 2017 at 7:09 am

      I think last night was a clear rookie vs veteran. Monaco’s inexperience showed and was easy for our warriors to beat

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 8:35 pm

    I told you
    2 games to go

    • Avatar
      Dar Black May 3, 2017 at 8:44 pm

      There would be a nice bit of historical significance if we get to Cardiff, as the Welsh striking legends John Charles and Ian Rush were of course both former Juve players (a Juve legend in John C’s case). I imagine Juve will play on that fact and get some Welsh local support because of it. Although Gareth Bale is Welsh too.

      • Avatar
        E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 9:39 pm

        If…… Mr Black we must go to cardiff. There is no if this time or but or maybe we must go to cardiff and return with that cup. There is no if. Its time we have waited for too long. After they gave us hell we have waited for too long. They must become legends.

  • Avatar
    Mauro Zuppelli May 3, 2017 at 9:30 pm

    perfect

  • Avatar
    Mauro Zuppelli May 3, 2017 at 9:36 pm

    How much i was against Dani Alves coming last summer. And how much i am eating my own tongue, brains and hands right now, for saying, thinking and typing it. He has been marvellous since the New Year has come around. As an arrogant c*nt this is one of the few times i love being wrong.

    • Avatar
      Gerald Quinn May 3, 2017 at 10:16 pm

      i did the same with Mandzukic, complaining that we didnt sell him lol. But ALves man, best deal ever!!! he has been crucial to our champions league progress

      • Avatar
        DutchJuventus May 3, 2017 at 10:40 pm

        And we did the same with Allegri. Recent years have been all about proving us wrong :p

        • Avatar
          Gerald Quinn May 4, 2017 at 4:30 am

          True! i couldn’t wait for Allegri to leave at the start, but he shut us up good!

          • Avatar
            Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 4:43 am

            same here, first i thought they are joking by hiring Allegri, but now? it was masterpiece.

        • Avatar
          JuveMarchisio May 4, 2017 at 6:29 am

          Hey do you follow Ajax?which players should juve follow ???

    • Avatar
      Peter May 4, 2017 at 4:48 am

      I was worried about him exposing our right side due to his eagerness to run forward, supporting the attacks. Luckily, we’re not relying on him defending all the time, he usually has good cover, like Barzagli yesterday.

      • Avatar
        Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 4:54 am

        dani works pretty hard, starting to find right rythm in this team.Im afraid Stephen’s days at Juve are numbered.But lets see what will summer bring us.

  • Avatar
    Xx RForcE xX May 3, 2017 at 10:18 pm

    if we go through it is going to be my 6th final as Juve fan.

    • Avatar
      E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 10:26 pm

      Again there is no if. Just stop it if it was Barca ooooooh! We must grow up. We expect the team to impress every fucking single game and yet we use the if.We will go to Cardiff and to the final for the second time in three years. Meanwhile we have beaten Real Barca but we use if.BM only edged us by the love of god. We are in the top teams we have won six scudetti meanwhile. Now its time to seal the legend

      • Avatar
        Xx RForcE xX May 3, 2017 at 10:37 pm

        it is called football mate, you never know what can happen.Ask Verratti lol,we gotta stay with our feet on the ground.Anyway, how many yellows does Chiellini has?1 today, 1 against barca…

        • Avatar
          E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 10:46 pm

          Chiellini cant be suspended for the final. It must be a red un the second to skip it

          • Avatar
            Gerald Quinn May 4, 2017 at 4:29 am

            I’m sorry but Monaco are a greater attacking threat than Barca, Bara just has the MSN but their midfield is God Awful! , Monaco have Mbappe who i dare say is better than Suarez, at least in this Champions league season, Monaco also have their Lethal goalscorer in Falcao and AN AWESOME MIDFIELD full of Specialist, creativity and Splendor!

          • Avatar
            Dar Black May 4, 2017 at 3:06 pm

            They were not that great last night.

          • Avatar
            Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 4:57 am

            khedira didnt get red and was suspended yesterday.3 or 5 yellows, not sure now.

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 4, 2017 at 6:57 am

            Rules changed for a final if I remember well. Count of yellow cards doesnt matter in order to play a final.

          • Avatar
            Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 7:40 am

            you sure? cos chiello didnt play last final against barca cos of yellows if im right…

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino May 4, 2017 at 11:16 am

            Not 100% but I recall reading an article about it, so players can play more carefree in semi finals

          • Avatar
            E.Micallef May 4, 2017 at 6:00 pm

            Im sure i heard on a tv programme red in second dont count. Not care free it is ridiculous to skip the final for a 50 50 challange. Remember yellow is an interpratation of a man some give it some dont. Thats the reason. Should be like that all around. If you tackle hard or dangerous straight red. Thats it

          • Avatar
            E.Micallef May 4, 2017 at 5:56 pm

            Exactly

          • Avatar
            E.Micallef May 4, 2017 at 5:55 pm

            Two up to the quarter finals. Semis if you dont get red you cant be suspended

        • Avatar
          E.Micallef May 3, 2017 at 10:50 pm

          We are talking about Monaco here.

          • Avatar
            Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 4:14 am

            yes and they are in semis for a reason.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuventus May 3, 2017 at 10:38 pm

    Cardiff here we come!!!!! What a great match we played.

  • Avatar
    Gerald Quinn May 4, 2017 at 4:32 am

    our defence was qulity in the second half (similar to the Barca game) but true the first half was atrocious, had we had anyone else other than Gigi, we could have been 2-0 down

    • Avatar
      Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 4:48 am

      few sleep ups from Bonnu and Mbappe almost scored twice in first half.This boy is going to be next superstar.18 yo? wtf

  • Avatar
    JuveMarchisio May 4, 2017 at 6:28 am

    One of THE most beautifull team goals ever !!!

  • Avatar
    Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 7:49 am

    Monaco didnt score at home after 18 months.In november 2015 lost 2:0 to Anderlecht Brussels

  • Avatar
    E.Micallef May 4, 2017 at 6:08 pm

    General question. With second higuain goal half the stadium was celebrating. How may fans do you think monaco have??. I think it is widely possible to shoot a ball in the streets there. The stands behind goal nearly have 5 rows.

    • Avatar
      Dar Black May 4, 2017 at 9:06 pm

      Not many is the answer. Perhaps being so close to Turin (only about 200+ KM’s) there are many in that area of Monaco/France who are Juve fans, and were able to get tickets.

  • Avatar
    Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 6:24 pm

    who is living in monaco?rich pigs.the club there is nonsense

    • Avatar
      Dar Black May 4, 2017 at 9:03 pm

      IIRC, lots of French people come in to watch them.

      • Avatar
        Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 9:42 pm

        iirc? wtf lol

        • Avatar
          Dar Black May 4, 2017 at 11:39 pm

          If I recall correctly…

  • Avatar
    Xx RForcE xX May 4, 2017 at 8:51 pm

    ITA U17 – CRO U17 1:0
    Moise Kean 78′