Juventus v Parma
Match Preview Coppa Italia

Parma v Juventus Coppa Italia Preview

January 27, 2015 - 12:29 am

parmajuventus

Parma V Juventus

Coppa Italia – Quarter Finals [Wednesday, 28th January – 19:45 GMT] – Stadio Ennio Tardini


juventus

Juventus

Juventus will be aiming to heap more misery on Parma while moving a step closer to winning their first Coppa Italia in 20 years.

The Gialloblù are having a season to forget having managed just 4 wins in all competitions, sitting at the foot of the table following another defeat, this time at the hands of fellow relegation-battlers Cesena.

To add to their woes, Antonio Cassano has officially rescinded his contract, having taken legal action against the club for six months of unpaid wages. An especially bitter blow when you consider ‘Fantantonio’ was responsible for almost a third of the goals scored by the club this season.

Meanwhile, Juve will be hoping to lift the trophy for the first time in almost 2 decades,  their last Coppa Italia trophy coming way back in the 1994-95 season when, coincidentally, they faced Parma in a 2-legged final which saw Juve run out 3-0 winners over both legs.

The Bianconeri have won their last 4 matches in a row scoring 15 goals along the way while conceding just 2. Rotation will be the order of the day for Max Allegri, especially as Juve will be playing 3 times in the space of a week.

Marco Storari should begin in goal in place of Gigi Buffon while Stephan Lichtsteiner will hopefully start at right-back, given Martin Caceres played last weekend in the 2-0 win against Chievo.

Angelo Ogbonna has been out of action for the last 2 games since injuring his ankle in the 4-0 victory over Hellas Verona but he was in the squad against Chievo and may start alongside Leonardo Bonucci.

Patrice Evra may be rested with Simone Padoin taking his place at left-back while Andrea Pirlo should have recovered from flu to return to the starting XI. Claudio Marchisio is suspended for this weekends game against Udinese so will likely feature as well.

Max Allegri hinted that Paul Pogba will be rested so Arturo Vidal could start alongside Pirlo and Pereyra in midfield with Kingsley Coman possibly partnering one of either Alvaro Morata or Fernando Llorente.

Predicted Lineup

4-3-1-2 :  Storari; Lichtsteiner, Bonucci, Ogbonna, Padoin; Pirlo, Vidal, Marchisio, Pereyra, Coman, Llorente

Injuries

Kwadwo Asamoah and Romulo  (Both undergone knee surgery), Angelo Ogbonna (Ankle), Andrea Pirlo (Flu – Recovered), Luca Marrone.

 

parma

Parma

Despite the change of ownership that was supposed to bring some serenity and some financial stability at Parma, the situation of Ducali remains tumultuous. The star of the team Antonio Cassano has just terminated the contract because the wages haven’t been paid in months. The other players have met with some representatives of the Player’s Association to study the next moves: a mini-mutiny that could lead to other departures. It’s pretty simple: if footballers don’t get paid, they don’t play well. We’ve seen this multiple times, especially in the lower divisions.

To make things worse, despite the impressive signings of Cristian Rodriguez from Atletico Madrid, Silvestre Varela from Porto and Antonio Nocerino from Milan, they have lost against Cesena, one of the few teams within their grasp and they remain dead last in the table and reaching Chievo, Cagliari, Empoli and Atlanta, who are actively battling to avoid the drop, is a mirage. The fans have vehemently confronted the team after the disheartening defeat, but they seem resigned to relegation.

When you collect only nine points in twenty matches, it means that pretty much nothing has worked. The problems started when the former president Tommaso Ghirardi pulled the stunt of “abandoning” his position after they were deprived of the Europa League spot over tax issues, leaving the CEO Pietro Leonardi with no cash in the summer window. Roberto Donadoni is not the main responsible, but he’s on the hot seat and shares some of the blame: his low-key, docile character is probably not suitable for war-time. The squad plays with no sense of urgency.

In Serie A, Parma have won two matches at home, drawing once and losing eight times. But Coppa Italia is a different animal and everything comes down to this: how much they care about it? I guess very little, considering their desperate situation. They face Milan, another troubled team, on the road on Sunday night and they might even think that they could get some points out of that fixture and thus rest the starters.

Predicting the lineup is a bit of a guessing game, but they probably don’t have the depth to use 4-3-3 with the reserves, so Donadoni is likely opt for 3-5-2. Some of the benchwarmers are slated to get the nod in this one: Fabiano Santacroce, Felipe, Pedro Mendes, McDonald Mariga, Lucas Souza, Nicola Pozzi and maybe some youngsters will have a chance to get playing time too. We’ll see if he’ll give the newcomers few minutes to mesh with the others.

They have the worst defense in the league and the return of the rusty Gabriel Paletta hasn’t boosted it: they have conceded 43 goals in 20 matches, more than two per game. They struggle almightily to score too: Cassano was the team’s best with five goals, Paolo De Ceglie (!) is the second best with three. Until they don’t find a good striker, they ain’t going anywhere. The memory of the last encounter between the two teams is still fresh: Juventus hammered Parma: it ended 7-0.

Predicted Lineup:

4-4-2: Iacobucci; Santacroce, Felipe, Mendes; Rispoli, Mariga, Galloppa, Souza, De Ceglie; Palladino, Pozzi.

Injuries:

Biabiany (heart), Coda (knee), Ghezzal (fibula), Jorquera (foot), Lila (calf). Belfodil and Acquah are partaking to AFCON 2015.

 

Formation

26parma

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 27, 2015 at 12:52 am

    So is this tomorrow(tuesday)?

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo January 27, 2015 at 6:08 am

      Wednesday

  • Avatar
    JuveMarchisio January 27, 2015 at 8:44 am

    really hope Coman gets some playing time

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 27, 2015 at 9:13 am

      Me too, as trequartista or striker, doesn’t matter but he HAS to play now. Parma is the weakest opponent in the league and their topscorer just left them, if does doesn’t get him a chance I don’t know what will

      • Avatar
        adp1974 January 28, 2015 at 2:24 am

        If I see Tevez and Llorente start that fucking game tomorrow I’m gonna scream ..

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 6:52 am

          That would be fucking disappointing but Tevez isnt in the Squad for this game so thats good news!

    • Avatar
      adp1974 January 27, 2015 at 10:28 am

      i really hope he sits tevez…. he needs a rest and he doesnt have to play every fucking game …. they should start morata and coman ….

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 27, 2015 at 9:12 am

    First it was Garcia who had to swallow his words about referees, now its Benitez’ turn https://football-italia.net/61800/benitez-napoli-were-superior both of you are as hypocrite as it gets

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino January 27, 2015 at 11:59 am

      rafa likes to talk food…fat fuck lol.

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 28, 2015 at 8:46 am

        Hes not the only one… food is delicious!! :p

        But i dont recall Rafa ever complaining aboutt he refs, but then again, my memory hasnt served me well in recent years

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 10:55 am

          He did so after the loss to us, like 2-3weeks ago 😛
          “Sorry Roma but Juve will win the Scudetto” quote, after a so called controversial call in our favour

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 27, 2015 at 10:55 am

    Osvaldo and Pazzini are touted as alternatives for us???

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 27, 2015 at 11:54 am

      Yup, so lets pray January ends fast before we get either one of those

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino January 27, 2015 at 11:58 am

        what is it with juve and the month of january?…SIGN ME INSTEAD LOL!!!

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino January 27, 2015 at 1:34 pm

          lol I bet it would be a far better move than those two combined!

          • Avatar
            dinodelfino January 27, 2015 at 8:42 pm

            lol!

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve January 27, 2015 at 2:57 pm

          Do it Marotta!! :p

          • Avatar
            dinodelfino January 27, 2015 at 8:43 pm

            lol!dude

    • Avatar
      tpick January 27, 2015 at 9:50 pm

      Awesome. Can we please buy Amauri too? I’d settle for bringing back Jorge Martinez.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 8:00 am

        Or Padoin’s twin brother

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:24 pm

          There are 2 of them? 😐

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 9:27 pm

            no idea, I hope not! xD

      • Avatar
        Juveprodigy101 January 28, 2015 at 1:19 pm

        Is love Amauri to, toothpick

    • Avatar
      Luca Moleta January 27, 2015 at 10:38 pm

      sigh

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 27, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    Again Coppa? Shouldn’t be very hard against the number last in the Serie A.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 27, 2015 at 4:47 pm

      On the other hand, this is pretty much the most important game for them, they can only gain something here 😛
      But yeah should be straightforward win anyway for us

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve January 27, 2015 at 8:24 pm

        They might wanna focus on surviving in Serie A though. 10 points behind the safe zone is alot, but it’s possible in 18 games. Or maybe they wanna go out with a bang, winning the coppa.

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 7:59 am

          they have more players threatening to leave though, even their captain Lucarelli

          • Avatar
            JuveMarchisio January 28, 2015 at 11:41 am

            a shame, though, if Parma drops down to Serie B

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 12:28 pm

            Doesn’t really bother me, someone has to relegate, why not Parma, never really liked them anyway. Rather them than Sassuolo!

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:23 pm

            It is. Used to be pretty decent in europe. Well, i was sad about Palermo and Bologna aswell, it’s becoming a trend that real Serie A teams relegate.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 28, 2015 at 8:43 am

      Last isnt a number, Dutch :p

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:22 pm

        Idc xD

      • Avatar
        JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 7:54 pm

        Haha the sentence would have been correct in Dutch

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 8:12 pm

          Now i feel like Van Gaal xD Next i’m gonna say thats another biscuit.

          • Avatar
            JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 8:14 pm

            This one doesn’t look like a mistake tho 🙂 It’s because John said it

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 8:16 pm

            It felt right too.. John always needs something to complain about!

          • Avatar
            JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 8:17 pm

            Damnit John..

    • Avatar
      Juveprodigy101 January 28, 2015 at 1:18 pm

      Good to see you again Dutch, I agree!

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 6:53 am

    God now even Cassano is named a possibility for is, Allegri not denying it, fuuuuuck what good is cassano to us?!

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 28, 2015 at 8:42 am

      The combination of him and Pepe in one locker room would make for an awesomely fun pair, but other than that, NOTHING. he d prpbably get everyone fat by bringing in loads of nutella to practice.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 10:54 am

        I think his big ego would rather destroy the good atmosphere there is now :p

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 8:06 am

    Btw Rav, what’s up with the image for this article? I don’t get the link to Juve 😛

    • Avatar
      Moderator January 28, 2015 at 8:48 am

      Parma are nicknamed the Crusaders . Hence the image of two crusaders doing battle. Tenuous link I know

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 10:52 am

        Ah, now I get it. Didn’t think it was a crusader, it looked more like the Teutonic order or something (yeah I’m a bit of a history geek, hence the question)

        I was just curious!

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 28, 2015 at 8:48 am

      Its an epic image tho. But i doubt Parma would put up half the fight the image portrays :p

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 10:52 am

        Yeah it’s a cool picture, just the link eluded me and it began to bother me that I didn’t get it xD

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 28, 2015 at 8:52 am

    This is probably gonna be one fun match to watch… and again im gonna miss it because of work. The higher ups of this world should really consider my idea of bringing back the use of chickens and cows instead of money. We d be able to work on our own schedule and wouldnt feel obligated to go to school.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 10:53 am

      Dunno, you have to watch more Padoin at Lb tho 😛 combined with Pepe playing and possibly missing Coman once more (praying he gets a full match here)

      But yeah I’m also missing it most likely

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:25 pm

      I’m with you man!

  • Avatar
    Juveprodigy101 January 28, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    Ahhh come on, U need all of the french stars to play. U can just put Coman it must be Evra, Pogba and Coman.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 1:38 pm

    Now Paletta leaving Parma as well, not directly like Cassano but he’s leaving to Sampdoria (reportedly)

    Guess it’s just about confirmed Parma will relegate and lose pretty much every decent player in their squad. If those new owners don’t step in soon I see Parma relegating from Serie B football as well

    • Avatar
      Juveprodigy101 January 28, 2015 at 4:02 pm

      I don’t agree.

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo January 28, 2015 at 6:50 pm

      apparently they havent paid PDC his wages the past 6 months either. idk what theyre doing over there…

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 6:52 pm

        BLOODY HELL!!!

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:26 pm

        They already took a point from them for financial reasons i think….

        • Avatar
          JuveMondo January 28, 2015 at 7:42 pm

          oh didn’t know that. Not a good start for the new owners

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 8:11 pm

            It was a couple of months ago.

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 8:47 pm

          Yup

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal January 28, 2015 at 4:14 pm

    ugh i can’t believe i’m gonna miss this game. last semster i had no classes during game time on tuesdays and wednesdays but this semester i’m gonna miss all the tuesday and wednesday game. This cruel world is gonna make me miss CL games. WHY?!?!

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 4:41 pm

      just watch them anyway and catch up on classes later! 😛

    • Avatar
      JuveMondo January 28, 2015 at 6:55 pm

      I’ll miss any tuesday games too but at least I’m free this time on wednesdays

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:27 pm

      Set your school on fire.

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 28, 2015 at 9:19 pm

        Lets set fire to all the schools!!! F*ck school and f*vk the educatiin system!!! Hazaaa!!

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 9:24 pm

          Do you have bonds with Al Qaeda John? 😛

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 4:53 pm

    Come on Juve,keep the treble alive!!!!

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 28, 2015 at 6:16 pm

    Quick round up of the days news:

    Juve in the lead to sign Gerson
    Sampdoria to take Marrone on loan with an option to buy
    Mattiello to join chievo on loan
    Sturaro to join Juve after Genoa play Fiorentina

    https://www.juvefc.com/sturaro-juventus-marrone-samp-mattiello-goes-loan/

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 6:53 pm

      nice one rav!

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 8:48 pm

      Dont really like the option to buy for Marrone 🙁
      Unless the option is 50mill, then it’s all okay.

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 28, 2015 at 7:10 pm

    Juventus starting XI: Storari, Lichtsteiner, Ogbonna, Chiellini, Padoin, Vidal, Pirlo, Marchisio, Pepe, Llorente, Coman. #ParmaJuve

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 7:24 pm

      #JUVEWILLSMASH!!!!

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 7:27 pm

      Comaaaan!!

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 7:29 pm

        he will smash it maarten dude!!!

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 8:49 pm

      Pereyra should play over Padoin/Pepe but besides that I’m happy

  • Avatar
    JuveKSA January 28, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    Any decent link will do right now? Anything you guys?

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    great following by the Bianconeri tonight….coppa italia too!

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    Pepe’s passing.. Not so good

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    FORZA JUVE

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    Lol, it’s true that none of the Parma players got their salary the last 6 months. Yet they have bought 2 new players in January.

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 8:04 pm

      some club is in trouble……what a joke!

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    llorente time that run dude

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve January 28, 2015 at 8:32 pm

    That would have been funny.

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 9:00 pm

    Chance Chiellini!!!!

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 9:14 pm

    Raise this JUVE……..DAI!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    Wait.. Morata for Coman?

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 9:23 pm

      Yeah.. Surprised me too, also Pogba on for Vidal

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 28, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    it’s like every player goes to the ground by every single touch made today. What a bore, started watching from the second half but there has been nothing worth watching here

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    Come on Juve!!!!!!!!Fuckin hell put these shit out!!!

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon January 28, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    Morata!!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    JUVE JUVE ALE ALE ALE ALE ALE JUVE JUVE

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino January 28, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!semi finale!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    Luca Moleta January 28, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    SEMI FINALS BITCHES

  • Avatar
    JuveMondo January 28, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    Hope we get Roma in the semis and smack them twice and then also beat them at their place in the campionato

  • Avatar
    JanJuveNL January 28, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    I think this game also showed that Morata really adds something to the team. We were more dangerous from the moment he came on the pitch. He deserved that goal.

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 28, 2015 at 10:36 pm

    We were crap…..but we won ! 🙂

    Roma or Fiorentina ?

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 29, 2015 at 8:17 am

      Let’s hope it’s Fiorentina 😛
      Don’t want Roma to beat us to that 10th Coppa!

  • Avatar
    Juventin1897 January 29, 2015 at 2:16 am

    Yo rick or Swain?

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino January 29, 2015 at 2:13 pm

      wrong page dude

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 29, 2015 at 11:44 am

    Seems like raiola smells money on Pogba, “Pogba will be gone this year or the next”
    I believe a good CL run will be necessary to keep Pogba for another season. If we don’t at least beat Dortmund, I think this is Pogba’s last season here.

    I’d really like to keep Pogba but if he does leave, that means we could cash in on something around 100mill. Makes one think what would be the best to do eh…

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino January 29, 2015 at 11:48 am

    And another thing, with Destro confirmed going to Milan, I have a big fear we’ll sign Pazzini on deadline day. He was already doing nothing at Milan and now there is absolutely no reason left for him to be there. But he’d also be useless here :/

    • Avatar
      Moderator January 29, 2015 at 9:09 pm

      don’t want pazzo or osvaldo

      add them to that list

      Anelka
      Borriello
      Toni
      Saint Nick

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino January 30, 2015 at 11:32 am

        Yeah same here, all of those guys are just of no use to us. Also don’t want Cassano but that one seems unlikely to me anyway.

        Very much prefer no new striker than anyone on this list

  • Avatar
    Moderator January 29, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    Funniest thing you’ll see today – Allegri v Pogba Shot challenge :

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?x-yt-cl=85027636&v=mdjgXTiTACE&feature=player_embedded&x-yt-ts=1422503916

    • Avatar
      Peter January 29, 2015 at 7:21 pm

      Shouldn’t let him go until he can beat Allegri.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ January 29, 2015 at 7:46 pm

      Haha Allegris voice. I love hows hes like “hows it going?” Everytime he scores… imma start saying that :p

      Does anyone know how to say it italian? I couldnt quite hear it through the video