Match Review Serie A

Post Match Review: Juventus 2-0 Udinese

September 13, 2014 - 10:28 pm

 juventus    Juventus                                                      2-0                                               Udinese         udinese

Tevez 8 (J)

Marchisio 70 (J)


 Serie A – Week 2  [13th September 2014]  – Juventus Stadium

After a long week away from Juventus amidst the International break, The Old Lady again not only found victory, but did it with another clean sheet despite the absence of Giorgio Chiellini and Andrea Barzagli in the defense. Ogbonna and Caceres are beginning to look like a worthy and very strong pair when called upon in the past two matches. Max Allegri again went into todays match with the familiar 3-5-2 formation, despite not having Arturo Vidal and Andrea Pirlo to his disposal. Upon his arrival, newly acquired Patrice Evra had expressed his will to not only play in his usual position of a Left-back in a four-man defense, but also as a wing-back in a 3-5-2 as he has experience playing in that position when he started his career for Marsala and Monza. Without the leadership of Chiellini, Barzagli, Vidal and Pirlo on the pitch, it was key to have the leadership qualities of Patrice Evra on the left flank.

It didn’t take long for Juventus to break the deadlock through a beautiful link-up between Lichtsteiner and Tevez after the play started from a great pass from Roberto Pereyra to the Swiss engine. Although there was much doubt in the past week or so of the availability of Carlos Tevez, after tweeting that he was fine to play against Udinese, it wasn’t long until he silenced the doubters with his goal coming after just 8 minutes past Karnezis, who took place of Udinese starlet Simone Scuffet.

Today we were missing our architect and replaced him with a prince. This was certainly not the first time we witness Marchisio master the regista role that we are used to seeing Pirlo play. After bossing the midfield behind Pogba and Pereyra, winning balls, making key passes and eventually scoring the second goal, our future captain played with the same grit and passion he usually possesses. With Claudio in the regista position, the match tends to be faster paced and more dynamic, although we certainly missed Pirlo’s free-kicks as there were many around the final third, but nobody can seem to hit a ball quite like il maestro.

Roberto Pereyra was able to make his full-match debut today in the absence of Arturo Vidal, who was still suffering from the knee injury he irritated for Chile during the international break. Pereyra, playing against his former side, was brilliant; he played great short passes, tracked back on defense when needed, and made the pass to Lichtsteiner which created the first goal. All in all, Pereyra looks like he will give great competition for the midfield when everyone is healthy, much like Coman against Chievo, Pereyra looks like one for the future.

While he was unable to score, Llorente was able to hold the ball nicely in the final third and created many opportunities for Tevez and Pogba to lay-off of. The Spaniard came close to scoring a few times throughout the match before being replaced by fellow countryman, Alvaro Morata who made his official Juventus debut as a late sub. After coming off an injury he suffered very early into preseason through a collision with Rubinho, Morata looked comfortable in the number 9 role and forced a very nice save from Karnezis in the dying minutes of the match as he parterned Kingsley Coman who came on for Tevez late in the game as well.

Another victory was achieved in great fashion, but it would not have been possible without the brilliant defense work from Ogbonna, Bonucci and Caceres who contained the electric pair of Luis Muriel and Antonio Di Natale, two strikers that have been linked to Juventus a number of times in the past. Caceres did an excellent job of containing the speedy Colombian, Luis Muriel. Di Natale and Gigi Buffon have no shortage of history, but luckily today Bonucci and Ogbonna were more than capable of containing the legendary Italian goal-scorer and didn’t allow him to have any true tests on Buffon.

As Patrice Evra stated after the match that Allegri works his players harder than the legendary former Manchester United manager, Sir Alex Ferguson, it clearly showed in today’s match how truly fit and determined the players were as there is no noticeable shortage of grit and energy. With six points, three goals, and two clean-sheets in the first two games, Juventus are off to winning ways to kick off the season as they look to continue their run against Milan next Saturday at the San Siro.


Statistics

foot12 Man of the Match: Vote here
foot14 Corners 4 foot07 Total Shots:  18
foot13 Flop of the Match: N/A foot05 Pass Accuracy: 90% foot01 Ball Possession:  58%
foot11 Fouls: 14 foot00 Shots on Target:   7 foot08 Formation:  3-5-2

 

Formation:

02Udinese


Lineups:

Juventus: Buffon; Caceres, Bonucci, Ogbonna; Lichtsteiner, Pereyra (Padoin 85), Marchisio, Pogba, Evra; Tevez (Coman 81), Llorente (Morata 89)

Udinese: Karnezis; Heurtaux, Danilo, Bubnjic; Widmer, Allan, Guilherme (Pinzi 73), Kone (Thereau 81), Pasquale; Muriel (Bruno Fernandes 46), Di Natale

Ref: Damato

 


Video Highlights:

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 13, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    first! in some good news, allegri is hoping to have chiello back for malmo and vidal for milan

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 13, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    It feels so good watching Juve after sooo long…

    The players that impressed me the most today were Pereyra, Caceres and Morata(even if he was one for only a few moments).

    Pereyra not only looks like Vidal, but he runs almost or maybe even as much as Vidal. Really enjoyed his work rate today. It would be great to see him and Vidal in the same line up in the future.

    Caceres was extremely solid.

    Morata didnt have much time on the pitch, but he definitely didnt lack hunger. He chased down the ball, wasnt afraid to take on his man and even almost scored one himself. He and Coman are gonna be very useful for the Cl. We finally have players who can take players on and create space.

    I guess the mercato wasnt nearly as poor as i thought. If Pereyra can continue to show the type of form he showed today and improve on it too, he ll be up there fighting for a starting position and he wont just be a back up player.

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 12:14 am

      i think people are over reacting to pereyra’s performance. he was played as a trequartista and his passing and movement was good but the entire team dominated udinese. as for comparing him to vidal, he ran but he was terrible defensively. every time he tried to win the ball he’d give away a foul. we need to see how he performs when the rest of the team isn’t so in form. 17mil is a lot and there are a lot of good players out there for that amount or just a little more. it also depends on what happens with rabiot. if we get him for free, do you really think marotta would spend 17mil on pereyra?

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 14, 2014 at 12:45 am

        Terrible defensively because he committed fouls? Fouls are bound to happen when you run your ass off and it couldve been the quality of the computer i was using, but i dont remember him committing many fouls… a few at the very most. Yea we dominated Udine and im sure Pereyra was one of the reasons for that. He was everywhere. If an Udine player held the ball even a couple secs too long, Pereyra wouldve already been there breathing down his neck.

        Even if we get Rabiot, im sure that 17 mill would be spent on Pereyra if he continues to work hard like he did today.

        • Avatar
          JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 1:13 am

          he didn’t win a single ball. every time he went up to a udine player, he would end up fouling him. also, we’re expected to sign berardi and zaza next season which would cost us 30mil. then don’t forget sturaro who has been playing incredibly well for genoa and is also expected to come back. add rabiot to that and we would have 6 cm: vidal, pirlo, pogba, marchisio, sturaro, rabiot. we would have no need for pereyra. and for 17mil? it’d be crazy to sign him.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 1:46 am

            He only committed one foul, just throwing that out there. Also I was lead to believe he played mostly on the wing, he could be a useful utility player and don’t throw the 17mil price tag around because we all know that we will jew them down

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 2:15 am

            he was played as a trequartista according to allegri. also, even if we bring it down to say 10mil (which would be lowering it a lot), do you still think we should spend 10mil on a cm when we already have 6 on the team?

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 10:06 am

            Yesterday he was, but he’s always been a winger in the past it seems. Personally I think we should spend about 30-40mil on a CM.. Not him but Verratti.

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 2:32 pm

            Allegri said in his conference that he doesn’t want pereyra drifting to the wings and in the summer he said he see’s pereyra as a like for like player as marchisio. Also, who wouldn’t want verratti? But is it really going to happen?

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

            It could happen, easily. They want pogba, I’d rather have verratti.. Swapsies?

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 4:45 pm

            it’d be far better to keep pogba. i hope juve keeps an eye on cristante. he’s also a dlp and benfica is a selling club.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 15, 2014 at 3:25 pm

            I’d much rather verratti to pogba if we can only have one. Yeah I couldn’t believe that milan sold him but at least it would mean that it’s easier for us to sign him if he does well.

          • Avatar
            RUDY ARIS September 15, 2014 at 7:40 pm

            LOL i don’t think Allegri knows what a trequartista is.

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 14, 2014 at 4:27 am

            Under those circumstances, then yes, there would be no need for him.

            And like Marc said, there was only one foul. He still worked hard and covered a lot of the pitch, which isnt terrible or anything remotely bad in my books.

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 1:43 am

        Over reacting to pereyras performance.. After the way people acted after Coman played? Obviously he was free and all but why sh*t on pereyras performance and not his?

        The raining on parades is a job exclusively reserved for me on this site, thank you very much. lol

        • Avatar
          JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 2:13 am

          well for one, coman hadn’t even played a full 90min of top division football before his chievo performance. also, he had just moved to a new league that is a lot more tougher for attacking players. also, coman is only 18. everyone loves it when a youngster plays well. pereyra has previous serie a experience.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 10:05 am

            Which is all the more reason people shouldn’t go overboard with one half decent performance.

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 12:35 pm

            Yes. I would have hang out a banner form my house if Bouy played like Coman did in his first match.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:33 pm

            If he’d scored too, would you have streaked? Because I think we all would’ve been willing him to fail then

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 4:41 pm

            I’d want him to fail myself if that was the case.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

            lol

        • Avatar
          Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 14, 2014 at 4:53 am

          And i dont know how im over reacting. All i said was that i was impressed with how much running he did today and would love to see him and Vidal on the same starting 11.

          • Avatar
            JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 2:30 pm

            Im not talking about you but some people on twitter were hyping him up to be the second coming of vidal.

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 14, 2014 at 11:12 pm

            Well thats twitter :p not really known for objective views.

    • Avatar
      philip_manila September 15, 2014 at 11:51 pm

      told you that the mercato was not that bad.. but too early to assess it.

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 1:40 am

    First time I’ve actually been glad i bothered to scroll down to the comment section on goal.com

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 2:15 am

      why?

    • Avatar
      Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 14, 2014 at 4:11 am

      that fckin jameslondonboi troll has been on goal.com for more than 2 years now. thank god i rarely go to to the comment section on that site.

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 12:29 pm

        Who cares… As long as there’s internet there will always be people like him and all he said was ”lucky win”. There have been worse things said about Juve.

  • Avatar
    Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 14, 2014 at 4:18 am

    hey guys. unfortunately missed the game because its 2:45 in the morning here when the game starts. seems to me that we played well! was there anything special i missed not written in the article above?

  • Avatar
    JuveMarchisio September 14, 2014 at 6:51 am

    Looking forward to see how we will do against Milan. To be fair, Udinese first half was very terrible and their second one terrible. Hard to say how promising Pereyra, Morata are. But they have certainly the quality to beat up midleague-table-teams. And that we couldn’t say of our dearest Padoin. So improvement of our squad? YES. I watched Evra closely, because I like Asamoah as our LW. I think Evra has more vista in his play, but he lacks the dribble and persistence on goal as Kwadwo. I couldn’t judge the capabilities in defense, because Evra wasn’t really tested. So Milan will be an eye opener… exciting times 🙂
    and you saw Marchisio goal !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 12:27 pm

      One thing that i really liked was that Evra gave some dangerous crosses. We haven’t seen that in a long time at Juve.

      • Avatar
        JuveMarchisio September 15, 2014 at 9:08 am

        I agree, only the crosses lacked height like always, a petty Llorente is not getting more header opportunities

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 14, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Btw, anyone who knows what Tevez meant with the text on his shirt last night?

    • Avatar
      Moderator September 14, 2014 at 9:49 am

      it was in reference to an area in Argentina – A housing area in South-West Beunos Aires. I think it was a show of solidarity

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 15, 2014 at 7:46 am

        Oh so that’s what it meant! Thanks, it’s a nice gesture from him

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 14, 2014 at 9:52 am

    Have you rated the players yet ? https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1gFUL7WK39pou-4rLiSD0O0nzpb9W4kpltld1rmUJZ-A/viewform

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    Pogba said he will sign a new contract soon. Reports say it will be untill 2019.

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      He said he will talk about signing, not actually sign

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 4:40 pm

        Yeah but he wants to and Juve wants to, so it will happen.

        • Avatar
          Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

          True, hopefully it’ll mean we get more for him when/if he goes

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 14, 2014 at 2:19 pm

    Inter destroying Sassuolo…. 5-0 so far.

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon September 14, 2014 at 2:20 pm

      Red card for Berardi…

      • Avatar
        JuventusVidal September 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm

        Well he’s out for 3 games

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    RIP Sassuolo 1922 – 2014

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 14, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    Inter 7 Sassuolo 0

  • Avatar
    Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm

    Inter are such an unclassy team, any other side in serie a wouldve stopped at 4/5-0

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      Any other team in the whole world would have continued though and since Inter isn’t Italian, it figures.

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli September 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

        Touché

    • Avatar
      tpick September 15, 2014 at 2:47 am

      No way. 7-0 is a statement win, we need a couple of those.

      • Avatar
        Peter September 15, 2014 at 7:24 am

        I agree, in my opinion we should simply crush the weaklings.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 15, 2014 at 12:21 pm

        Personally I also agree, it’s great to watch Juve absolutely demolish some team, but there’s this unwritten rule in Italy, if you’re up like 4 goals to none, you stop scoring out of respect for the opponent. It’s a classy thing but ofc winning hard is nicer to watch

      • Avatar
        JuventusVidal September 15, 2014 at 2:19 pm

        depends on which team we’re playing. if we have an opportunity like that against a team like roma, napoli, lazio etc we should definitely go for it. if it’s just some small team, i’d stop at 4/5-0. every goal conceded could matter for them.

        • Avatar
          JanJuveNL September 15, 2014 at 2:55 pm

          I want my team to score, our goal difference counts too you know. And it’s not just for the GD, it’s also for the fans. I want to be entertained. Here we are now..” “

      • Avatar
        Marc Dominic Zaroli September 15, 2014 at 3:22 pm

        Yes, a statement that the team has no class.

        • Avatar
          RUDY ARIS September 15, 2014 at 6:35 pm

          …so taking it easy on a team, like you would with a bunch of kids, is showing them class. I will never understand that. They do that in American Football too; I don’t get that logic. You give your opponents your full effort so they know you take them and the sport seriously. Last season we had too many games go down to the wire because the team took their foot off the gas pedal thinking to get away witha 2-0 lead.

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 15, 2014 at 8:04 pm

            Its not really going easy. By the time its 4/5-0 the other team is pretty much done with their heads down. They probably just want the game to end and its pretty cruel to carry on with the slaughter.

          • Avatar
            RUDY ARIS September 15, 2014 at 9:37 pm

            nah man, these guys are professionals not high school pussies. When I played tennis and was losing bad it would piss me off if the other guy started to take it easy on me. That was more humiliating than playing against someone giving it their all.

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 15, 2014 at 3:29 pm

        7 votes

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 15, 2014 at 7:54 am

    Going to miss a big part of the game against Malmo, I want to watch it all though..
    Anyone know a good site where I could still see the whole game?

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 15, 2014 at 2:20 pm

    expected lineup for malmo:
    Buffon
    Caceres-Bonucci-Chiellini
    Licht-Pogba-Marchisio-Asamoah-Evra
    Tevez-Llorente

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 15, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      I read earlier that Allegri said that morata would start

      • Avatar
        JuventusVidal September 15, 2014 at 4:28 pm

        i read he would give morata a long sub appearance but he isn’t going to start him because morata isn’t match fit yet. so many different stories lol

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm

      Personally I’d not play Tevez so he’s fit for Milan

  • Avatar
    EricJuve September 15, 2014 at 3:01 pm

    Juventus needs to improve their finishing or else will face problems in the second half of the season. I will not be surprise to see AC Milan as a title contender for the second half of the season.

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 15, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    verratti extended his contract till 2019

    • Avatar
      GhentJuventus September 15, 2014 at 4:53 pm

      bummer, He is my nr 1 wish for Juve

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    lol our atrocious free kick attempt

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pSZkID-2lVw

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 15, 2014 at 9:29 pm

    malmo preview live – Lots of great work on there