Match Preview Serie A

Preview and Scouting: Juventus v Cesena

September 22, 2014 - 6:16 pm

juventus     Juventus                                                      V                                               Cesena         cesena

19:45 UK


 Serie A – Week 4  [24th September 2014]  – Juventus Stadium

 

Juventus

As Juventus come off the weekend grabbing all three points against AC Milan at the San Siro, we see ourselves getting ready for the Bianconeri’s midweek Serie A match against newly promoted side, AC Cesena. Thanks to an electrifying Carlitos Tevez and a motivated and disciplined Allegri squad, we’ve seen our beloved Juve score six goals without conceding one in the first four games of the season.

While this is the ultimate test for Cesena–to show their worth against the three-time Champions of Italy–this is not the first time the two sides meet this year. On July 30th, Allegri’s men met the newly promoted side and left with a 0-0 draw, leaving Juventini questioning Allegri’s tactics before he quickly silenced his doubters.

Carlitos Tevez has been a key part of Juve’s recent success–not to mention the 19 goals he scored in the Serie A last season–having scored two goals in the first three Serie A matches and two stunning goals against Malmo in the Champions League, ending his drought in doing so. After scoring a late winner at the San Siro this past Saturday, surely Tevez will wish to continue his great run against Cesena; hopefully we will see more iconic Tevez celebrations as well!

Cesena are coming off a 2-2 draw against other newly promoted side, Empoli in an exciting battle for the one point, Juventus Loanee, Daniele Rugani scoring an exciting late goal to steal two points from the Northern Italian club of Cesena. Although Cesena blew their 2-0 halftime lead against Empoli, they were successful in their season opener against Parma in their important 1-0 win, beating Antonio Cassano’s side in doing so. The Seahorses were not as lucky in their second match, against Lazio when Candreva, Parolo and Mauri buried them in a whopping 3-0 defeat at the Stadio Olimpico.

Starting off 1-1-1 for a newly promoted side is not unusual as former Bologna manager, Pierpaolo Bisoli, looks to emulate many Italian sides, particularly Antonio Conte’s Juve as he uses his most comfortable formation, the famous 3-5-2. Against Empoli, Bisoli went in with a midfield three of Brienza, Cascione and Coppola who will likely face Pogba, Marchisio and Vidal (if Allegri feels comfortable starting him after his recent injury issues).

Max Allegri and co will look to continue their brilliant run against I Cavalluci Marini as they will face the potential Juventus number one, Nicola Leali, who finally features in the Serie A after playing his last 76 first team matches in the Serie B for Lanciano and La Spezia while on loan from the Bianconeri. The Juventus back-line may have more trouble than many think since both Cesena forwards, Guido Marilungo and Gregoire Defrel are coming off of goals against Empoli.

To surpass AS Roma’s equally impressive start to the season, Allegri and his men will have to go into this match with as much determination and hunger as though it were a final. Luckily for Juve, they seem to never seize to impress at the beautiful Juventus Stadium as the Bianconeri search for all three points and hopefully another clean-sheet in the making!

Predicted Lineup

3-5-2 :  Buffon; Ogbonna, Bonucci, Chiellini; Lichtsteiner, Vidal, Marchisio, Pogba, Evra; Llorente, Tevez

Injuries

icon05injured  Andrea Barzagli (Returning to fitness), Andrea Pirlo, Luca Marrone and Martin Caceres

 

Cesena Scouting

The game against Cesena presents the usual difficulties of any match against a newly promoted team early in the season: they are very pumped up for the promotion, the players are trying to make a name for themselves in Serie A and some of them that are completely unknown might catch the opponent off guard, they have nothing to lose because they don’t feel the pressure of having to grab some points at all costs.

Cesena have a very intense coach (Pierpaolo Bisoli) and all in all a roster that could allow them to stay in Serie A, if things go their way. They beat Parma in a cynical performance, they weren’t convincing at all against Lazio and they wasted a two-goal lead against Empoli. Three very different performances that don’t really say much about this team.

They’ll need some time to mesh since they had many newcomers in the summer. They have in a very motivated Marilungo and in a revamped Franco Brienza their best players: they roam in the attack without giving any reference point. However, they lack a pure scorer that could have solved some situations for them during the season and so they’ll have to make do with Alejandro Rodriguez, Milan Djuric and Davide Succi.

They have two tactics at disposal: 4-3-3 with one of the aforementioned centre-forwards or 3-5-1-1 with Marilungo as the lone striker. The early indications say that Bisoli will use the second one and it makes sense: they’d mirror Juventus scheme, a thing that coaches often like to do, and they did better against Empoli when they switched from the first one to the second one.

They are a newly promoted team, but they don’t lack of experience. The mastermind Rino Foschi, thanks to his connections in the football world, built a squad full of veterans like Stefano Lucchini, Daniele Capelli, Massimo Volta, Emanuele Cascione, Manuel Coppola, Giuseppe De Feudis, Luigi Giorgi, Nico Pulzetti and others (some of them returning after last year’s stint). Considering that their budget was really low and that the club has been battling financial issues for a while, that’s a decent roster.

They’ll be without Riccardo Cazzola (knee), Andrea Tabanelli (foot), De Feudis (calf) and Pulzetti (thigh) and these absence limit their options in the midfield. Other than the tactic, the only real doubt about the lineup is whether Giorgi or Ze Eduardo will play in the midfield.

Their average possession is 41, which is telling, and they conceded 15 shots per game. Their forte in surely the counter-attacking game, where they can exploit Brienza, Marilungo but also Gregoire Defrel, who is set to play at RWB but is an interesting offensive playmaker. On goal, they’ll have the Juventus-owned Nicola Leali, who will be certainly eager to prove his value in front of his potential future team.

Expected lineup

3-5-1-1 : Leali; Capelli, Lucchini, Volta; Defrel, Giorgi, Cascione, Coppola, Renzetti; Brienza; Marilungo.,

Injured

icon05injured  Riccardo Cazzola, Andrea Tabanelli, Giuseppe De Feudis and Nico Pulzetti

Formations

05cesena

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    juve_mike September 22, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    really hope Morata starts, can’t wait to see more of him

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 22, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Great preview as always – interesting that Cesena will probably mirror Juve – I;ve seen them play a few different formations so far this season. They seem like a really adaptable team which might good/bad for us.

    Watching them against Empoli at the weekend, they looked very shaky at the back. Leali made one superb save, definitely one to watch this game – I hope he remember who owns him.

    If we’re playing well by half time, I’d love to see a change in formation. – Maybe a 4-3-3 so Evra can play at LB properly. Like the idea of Morata up front with Coman and Tevez to either side.

    Either way, i think it’s time to see Morata – Llorente has been good in his hold up play but ultimately, we need more goals and Morata seems to have that special something.

    Can;t wait for this game – Once it’s over we enter that phase of CL matches again, and of course, we have Roma …..

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 22, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    i hope allegri rests some players. next week is gonna be tough, especially with atletico and roma

    • Avatar
      JuveMarchisio September 23, 2014 at 5:43 am

      indeed … Pereyra should play, Vidal came in strongly against Milan, so IMO we should spare him for the Atletico encounter. I should start with Llorente, to give him some more confidence. But maybe Tevez starting on the bench and Romulo & Evra on the wings, so Lichtsteiner and Asamoah can rest. During the game subbing Marchisio and/or Pogba. So hopefully Coman or Morata in the starting line-up.

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    LOL barbara berlusconi: Maybe we expected too much with the enthusiasm created by the first two wins, but we faced a tough team that could still count on the preparation given by a great coach – Conte.

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 September 23, 2014 at 4:44 am

    Round 2 of celebrity nudes. Hell yeah.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 23, 2014 at 5:04 am

      You should take a cold shower :p

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 September 23, 2014 at 5:39 am

    Hope Coman and Morata start this game. I really want to see a full game of action by them.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 23, 2014 at 7:09 am

    What about Coman Morata and Gio as the front three in a 4-3-3, on paper it looks lethal imo, the speed alone is insane.
    Probably not going to happen but I’d love to see it in action some day.

    More on topic: I also hope to see some starters get rested, we will need them at 100% for Atletico and Roma games.
    Without taking anything for granted against Cesena, I would start a lot of non first XI players for this game.

    Romulo Bonucci Chiellini Evra
    Pereyra Marchisio Pogba
    Gio Morata Coman

    With Vidal sub for Pogba, to get some rhythm back before the big games and also let Pogba get some rest.
    Other subs depending on how the game goes.
    Hell, if we can put this game to bed early I’d even sub in Matiello

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 2:48 pm

    Vidal and Romulo rumoured to start

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 24, 2014 at 4:13 pm

    Noi Siamo Juve…….Noi Siamo Juve

    • Avatar
      tpick September 24, 2014 at 4:27 pm

      I wanna see goals! Lots of them for us. 6-0

      • Avatar
        dinodelfino September 24, 2014 at 4:30 pm

        me too….clean sheet run to keep going too.Vidal if he starts is gonna be out to show allegri is arturo power.Can see him scoring tonight.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    Forza Juve!!!!

    • Avatar
      tpick September 24, 2014 at 6:47 pm

      streams?

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 24, 2014 at 6:49 pm

        Haha yes please Dutch

        I cant find any on wiziwig

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 6:51 pm

        We need streamssss

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 6:59 pm

        Sorry guys, dutch tv thought Napoli match and some cup matches from England are more important.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    Close one there, should have been better Ogbonna!

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Vidalllllll The Warrior makes it 1-0

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    Penalty lol… How dumb is this Cesena player or ref

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 7:04 pm

      second handball from Cesena though, fair call imo

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 7:04 pm

        Yeah i think so too but it was hard to see if he held it to his body or not.

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 7:06 pm

          Couldnt see it clearly either, but they got away with it first time, which was an obvious handball then. This one might be more open for discussion but the penalty was correct

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    Arturoooooooooo goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

  • Avatar
    tpick September 24, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Hopefully Allegri makes some decent early subs this game. Morata for Llorente and Coman for Gio, please. Romulo for Licht later on.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    De Ceglie with the equaliser against Roma xD

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon September 24, 2014 at 8:10 pm

      I heard the BT sport commentator mention something about an ex juve man equalising against Roma, didn’t think it was De Ceglie!

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 25, 2014 at 6:29 am

        Yeah my stream had a goal updater, showing who scored goals :p

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    VIDAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL I LOVE YOU

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    2-0arturoooo

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 24, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    Vidallllllll!!!!

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 24, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    now its time for subs, please..

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:10 pm

    Morata coming on!

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    God Padoin in again

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Liccchhhtsteinerrrrr!!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    LICHTSTEINER HE SCORED :DDDD

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Very good finish too

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Pepe coming on

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Lol Pepe for last 5mins

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 24, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Gio = 0 goals, 0 passes, 100 shots

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:30 pm

      He played really good, deserves a goal for all his efforts

      • Avatar
        LMJuveDK September 24, 2014 at 8:31 pm

        he shoots way too much

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:32 pm

          Every attacker who needs to show himself to the coach shoots too much.

          • Avatar
            LMJuveDK September 24, 2014 at 8:34 pm

            but it is still selfish

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:37 pm

            It is. But i don’t think you can blame him.

          • Avatar
            LMJuveDK September 24, 2014 at 8:39 pm

            i know. i just get annoyed watching it 🙂

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:32 pm

          only at the end, he’s desperate for a goal

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 24, 2014 at 10:28 pm

      Attempted 80 passes and had a 93% pass accuracy..

    • Avatar
      philip_manila September 24, 2014 at 10:56 pm

      nothing new 🙂

  • Avatar
    B1anconer0 September 24, 2014 at 8:29 pm

    Gio really deserves a goal

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:31 pm

    Good safe from Leali

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:33 pm

    Leali also had a good game, despite the 3 goals

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK September 24, 2014 at 8:35 pm

      yeah he did a good job

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 24, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    Leali has been extraordinary today

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 24, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    great game and a great result

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 24, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    Roma scored a late winner so we’re still not free.

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 24, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    lol did coman curse out allegri or something? started against chievo, got a couple minutes as a sub vs udinese and hasn’t played since

    • Avatar
      tpick September 24, 2014 at 9:37 pm

      He should have played over Padoin. In a game like this, 2-0 up against an easy team, a youth player such as Coman should have been brought on. Padoin should be reserved solely for when we have too many injuries.

      • Avatar
        BelgianJuventino September 25, 2014 at 6:27 am

        Padoin should just gtfo xd

        • Avatar
          Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 25, 2014 at 6:29 am

          I say he stays. I still think he would make an awesome mascot

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm

            xD even at that he’d be mediocre

  • Avatar
    ImSoCool12345 September 24, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    I guess we can all admit we were wrong about Allegri.

    • Avatar
      tpick September 24, 2014 at 9:38 pm

      Never.

    • Avatar
      Active-Camo16 September 25, 2014 at 5:22 am

      Hold on to that horse there…

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 25, 2014 at 6:28 am

      Eh, say that again when we drop some points

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 25, 2014 at 6:31 am

        Haha it ll be an interesting day on this site when that happens.

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino September 25, 2014 at 7:33 am

          I know, that’s why 😛

    • Avatar
      Peter September 25, 2014 at 11:13 am

      No.
      His biggest problem in his second year at Milan was conceding, here he inherited a team with a solid defense, these guys were together for the last 3 years (or more). Trading De Sciglio, Rami, Mexes, Constant, De Jong to Lichtsteiner, Barzagli, Bonucci, Chiellini, Asamoah, Vidal is just incomparable.

      Last year, Conte’s team won 33 games in the league, Lost only against Fiorentina and Napoli, two teams who’s only real option was to make it hard for Juve.
      This year, we have played against Chievo, Udinese, Milan, and Cesena. We won them all, but we should have done it anyway.

      He still has a lot of work to do, to get an “I misjudged him” out of me.

  • Avatar
    philip_manila September 24, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    Nice job Giovinco.. Padoin!! 🙂

  • Avatar
    philip_manila September 24, 2014 at 11:04 pm

    omg! more Agnelli news going to Ferrari. Agnelli, please stay!

    https://www.grandprix.com/ns/ns28993.html

  • Avatar
    Active-Camo16 September 25, 2014 at 5:16 am

    Is it just me or did Allegri/Marotta/Agnelli seem very shifty after Vidal scored that second goal? Almost like they poisoned his food only to find that he’s still alive…somehow