Match Preview Serie A, Match Scouting Serie A

Preview and Scouting: Juventus v Udinese

September 11, 2014 - 6:47 pm

 juventus    Juventus                                                      V                                               Udinese         udinese

19:45 UK


 Serie A – Week 2  [13th September 2014]  – Juventus Stadium

 

Juventus

Serie A’s defending champions will be missing a whole host of first team players as they welcome Toto Di Natale’s Udinese to  Juve Stadium.

Arturo Vidal is set to miss the game and expected to be out of action for at least 10-15 days after he picked up a thigh injury whilst on international duty for Chile over the weekend.

Andrea Barzagli and Spanish striker Alvaro Morata are injury doubts as the pair are returning to full fitness while Andrea Pirlo is still recovering from a bruised hip he sustained during the Trofeo TIM tournament at the end of August.

Carlos Tevez was reported to have pulled up yesterday with a suspected muscular injury but the striker was quick to reassure fans via his twitter account :

“Thank you to everyone for being worried about me,” wrote Tevez on Twitter this evening.“I have no lesions and I am preparing for Saturday’s game.”

Giorgio Chiellini is still suspended which will likely result in Allegri using the same back three of Martin Caceres, Leonardo Bonucci and Angelo Ogbonna who worked so well against Chievo in Week 1.

With Vidal and Pirlo being the notable absentees in centre of pitch, new signing Roberto Pereyra is likely to make his full Juve debut against his former side. Paul Pogba and Claudio Marchisio will play alongside him in the 3 man central midfield.

With doubts over whether Tevez will start from the bench or feature at all in the game, Fernando Llorente will start alongside either Sebastian Giovinco or Kinglsey Coman.

Confirmed lineup

3-5-1-1 : Buffon; Caceres, Bonucci, Ogbonna; Lichtsteiner, Pereyra, Marchisio, Pogba, Evra; Tevez, Llorente

Injuries

icon05injured  Andrea Barzagli (Returning to fitness), Andrea Pirlo, Alvaro Morata (Returning to fitness), Arturo Vidal

Suspensions

icon07red  Giorgio Chiellini

 

Udinese Scouting

After four years, Francesco Guidolin has left Udinese and there’s a new sheriff in town: former Inter coach Andrea Stramaccioni. They were really close to appointing Gigi Delneri but they ended up making a much more interesting choice. Allegri has never beaten Stramaccioni, who, moreover, was the first one to violate the Juventus Stadium fortress.

After the end of Guidolin’s realm, things have changed, but not so much. The tactic is the same (3-5-2), the cornerstones are the same (Di Natale didn’t retire) and the interesting youngsters who could break out this year are basically the same. Dusan Basta was the only mayor player that left (he wasn’t particularly impressive in the past season), but they already had Silvan Widmer in line to replace him on right flank.

They uncharacteristically added some veterans in order to solidify the roster: Panagiotis Kone, Cyril Thereau and Albert Riera. The first two are insurance policies if Bruno Fernandes and Luis Muriel won’t be as good as they are supposed to be in this season. Riera was acquired for nothing and could be useful if they eventually change the tactic.

Against Empoli, they weren’t particularly sharp, but they were cynical. The ageless Antonio Di Natale is in stellar form: he has already scored six goals in this season (four against Cremonese in Coppa Italia, a brace in the last Serie A match) and he’s of course their biggest threat. Differently from the previous years, they have decided to rely on his partnership with Luis Muriel, whose pace and dribbling skills could be a problem on the counter-attacking game.

They have a very deep squad and Strama has many options in the midfield. Against Empoli, the coach opted for a muscular trio: Badu-Allan-Guilherme and I wouldn’t be surprised to see them starting again. Kone and Bruno Fernandes represent the alternatives if they want at little more creativity and playmaking, while Pinzi could have a chance to play if they prefer having a veteran on the pitch in a tough road game.

Simone Scuffet is hurt and he’s out for a month due to an ankle sprain. He didn’t start against Empoli (he wasn’t injured) as Stramaccioni picked the Greek international Karnezis over him. The coach said that they have a project for Scuffet, but it still seems a bizarre decision. Probably they don’t want the youngster to get a big head after last year’s brilliant performances, but somebody who refuses to move to Atletico Madrid in order to finish high school in Italy sounds like a pretty humble guy, but that’s just me.

The left flank could be their week spot in Saturdays’s game. Both Gabriel Silva and Maurizio Domizzi are out due to muscular injuries and this means that the LCB-LWB combination will be completely new. Igor Bubnjic is the natural replacement of Domizzi: it will be only his 8th Serie A game. Heurtaux (watch out for his headers on the set pieces) and Danilo will complete the defense.

The situation is a little more complicated on the left flank: Giovanni Pasquale is the first option, but Strama has tried Ivan Piris consistently in that position in the recent practices. In any case, they are both shaky. Riera is in the mix too, but playing fullback in Turkey and doing it in Italy are two different things. A fancy option could be moving Widmer on this flank and using either Piris or Belmonte on the other.

In any case, Juventus will face a very ordinate squad that has been playing together for a long time, even if there’s a new coach at the helm. Udinese will sit back and try to strike with quick counters, which is the forte of both Muriel and Di Natale, as Stramaccioni admitted in today’s press conference.

 

Confirmed lineup

3-5-2 : Karnezis; Heurtaux, Danilo, Bubnjic; Widmer, Allan, Guilherme, Pinzi, Piris; Muriel, Di Natale.

Injured

icon05injured  Gabriel Silva, Simone Scuffet, Maurizio Domizzi

 

02Udinese

You Might Also Like

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 11, 2014 at 6:52 pm

    first !- Anyway, tough game, could be tricky with all those players out….BUT, looking at how week Marchisio did filling in for Pirlo, I;m not too worried. Only concern is really at the back – Nothing compares to having chiellini in the back 3.

    Really interested to see how Pereyra does against his old side.

  • Avatar
    tpick September 11, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    Without Vidal and Pirlo, it will be interesting to see how well the midfield does against the “poor mans Vidal,” Allan. He and Toto are the 2 players Im worried about. This will either be a goalfest for us, or a very close game that is slow and boring.

    • Avatar
      Moderator September 11, 2014 at 10:07 pm

      Toto v Ogbonna/Bonucci is worrying. Caceres has come on massively from his first season. Far more reliable.
      I’m not sure how well Llorente and Coman will work, if he starts instead of Tevez.
      Pogba is going to have a field day v that midfield/defence. He and Coman seem to have a great understanding already

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 11, 2014 at 10:19 pm

        He will score. He always scores. If we want to win this match we will have to score twice atleast because a Di Natale goal is a certainty.

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 11, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    Player ratings are back for the new season – Here’s week 1 – A bit late, i know – Will be on time next time : https://www.juvefc.com/week-1-chievo-v-juventus-player-ratings/

  • Avatar
    INTERBEATSJUBE September 11, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    READY TO GET 10TH PLACE JUBEPOLI??????????

  • Avatar
    JuveMarchisio September 12, 2014 at 5:39 am

    Marchisio will save the day, Dutch 😉

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      He always does 🙂

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 12, 2014 at 11:03 am

    Question for everyone – How to you normally visit the site – Desktop/tablet/phone ?

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 12, 2014 at 11:41 am

      My laptop, I don’t really browse on my phone

    • Avatar
      juve_mike September 12, 2014 at 12:15 pm

      laptop

    • Avatar
      JuventusVidal September 12, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      Laptop and phone

    • Avatar
      JuveLee September 12, 2014 at 12:45 pm

      laptop/Ipad

    • Avatar
      JanJuveNL September 12, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      laptop

    • Avatar
      Marc Dominic Zaroli September 12, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      Ipad

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 12, 2014 at 4:34 pm

      laptop mate.

    • Avatar
      Bianconeri_Archer_PH September 12, 2014 at 5:09 pm

      laptop

    • Avatar
      RUDY ARIS September 12, 2014 at 6:22 pm

      desktop/phone. sometimes both at the same time lol.

    • Avatar
      Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 12, 2014 at 8:08 pm

      Phone

    • Avatar
      JuventusBuffon September 12, 2014 at 10:43 pm

      Phone

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      Sometimes laptop sometimes phone.

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 12, 2014 at 11:33 am

    Allegri confirms: “Barzagli could be on the bench, Tevez felt discomfort but is OK, Evra will play, Pereyra could figure

    Also – 21 years to the day since Ale took to the field for Juventus

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 12, 2014 at 11:40 am

      Hoping for a great game and maybe the first Coman goal?! Who knows, would be great

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 12:42 pm

      At first i thought that match was against Feyenoord.

  • Avatar
    interbestteamever September 13, 2014 at 3:17 am

    good luck to udinese and wish the worst for rube

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 6:19 am

      Try not to lose to Sassuolo again, merda

      • Avatar
        interbeatsrube September 13, 2014 at 8:00 am

        I hole-hardedly agree, but allow me to play doubles advocate here for a moment. For all intensive purposes I think you are wrong. In an age where false morals are a diamond dozen, true virtues are a blessing in the skies. We often put our false morality on a petal stool like a bunch of pre-Madonnas, but you all seem to be taking something very valuable for granite. So I ask of you to mustard up all the strength you can because it is a doggy dog world out there. Although there is some merit to what you are saying it seems like you have a huge ship on your shoulder. In your argument you seem to throw everything in but the kids Nsync, and even though you are having a feel day with this I am here to bring you back into reality. I have a sick sense when it comes to these types of things. It is almost spooky, because I cannot turn a blonde eye to these glaring flaws in your rhetoric. I have zero taller ants when it comes to people spouting out hate in the name of moral righteousness. You just need to remember what comes around is all around, and when supply and command fails you will be the first to go. Make my words, when you get down to brass stacks it doesn’t take rocket appliances to get two birds stoned at once. It’s clear who makes the pants in this relationship, and sometimes you just have to swallow your prize and accept the facts. You might have to come to this conclusion through denial and error but I swear on my mother’s mating name that when you put the petal to the medal you will pass with flying carpets like it’s a peach of cake.

        • Avatar
          Marc Dominic Zaroli September 13, 2014 at 12:02 pm

          Your use of saying are dire, they are all incorect. Learn2english

        • Avatar
          JuventusBuffon September 13, 2014 at 12:03 pm

          Shut the fuck up.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 13, 2014 at 12:07 pm

            Dont get angry, it’s what he wants.

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 13, 2014 at 12:34 pm

            Not angry, just giving him some good advice.

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 12:41 pm

            Even i didn’t say anything.

          • Avatar
            Marc Dominic Zaroli September 13, 2014 at 1:04 pm

            Exactly and Dutch is a rage monster

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm

            I can’t deny that 😀

          • Avatar
            JuventusBuffon September 13, 2014 at 1:27 pm

            You’re an angel Dutch, I hope you know that 😀

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm

            Obviously 😛

  • Avatar
    interbeatsrube September 13, 2014 at 8:03 am

    Udinese 4-0 Juve

    Allegri sent off for being terrible.

    FORZAINTERFORUM WILL TAKE OVER JUVEFC

    *RUBEFC

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 8:09 am

    Looks like we need the banhammer again Rav

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Ready for Juve action finally!!!!

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 13, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    wait so what happened with that deleted comment?

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 5:45 pm

      what happened dude?

      • Avatar
        JuventusVidal September 13, 2014 at 5:45 pm

        i’m not sure. i saw it said comment deleted and people were pretty upset

        • Avatar
          Moderator September 13, 2014 at 5:49 pm

          I deleted the comment from that interista – Is that the one you meant ?

          • Avatar
            dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 5:50 pm

            oh… lol rav I was right…inter bastardi

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm

            He said something like Jubepoli. A dumbass troll, should have been ignored.

          • Avatar
            Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 13, 2014 at 6:43 pm

            Should have, but no one ever does!!

          • Avatar
            dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 7:39 pm

            what a ????……

        • Avatar
          dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 5:49 pm

          same???…must of been a imposter…interista by the sound of it

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 7:47 pm

      some dude coming here, acting like a douche and claiming something about interforum taking over here, crazy shit

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    JUVE JUVE JUVE JUVE

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 13, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    Lineups and formations confirmed – Refresh and see above

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    bnou marzouk made his return from injury for the primavera and scored the winning goal in a 3-2 win over spezia

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    I want to see how we get on without pirlo and vidal

  • Avatar
    JuventusVidal September 13, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    lol tiago scored against RM

    • Avatar
      tpick September 13, 2014 at 7:13 pm

      Hes good, always has been. Idk why he never showed it at Juve. Formation maybe.

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 13, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    JUVE!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    Llorente murdered his hair…

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    Gooool

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL CARLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOS

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:02 pm

    What happened in that free kick and why did they let Bonucci take it lol. Also, great tackle by Marchisio to prevent the counter.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:03 pm

      Bonucci didn’t take it at all, what the heck is this from a free kick lol.

  • Avatar
    RUDY ARIS September 13, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    i need a link please!

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 7:04 pm

      dutch commentary though

      https://stvstreams.com/flash-vlc/flash/

      • Avatar
        RUDY ARIS September 13, 2014 at 7:36 pm

        thank you, it looks beautiful. I want some of that frog tape from the commercial

        • Avatar
          BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 7:37 pm

          Yeah it’s good quality stream, I like that. Hahah xD

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:44 pm

          Lol. How do you like dutch commercials :p

          • Avatar
            RUDY ARIS September 13, 2014 at 7:48 pm

            theyre good, dude, I like the doggy auto track one too. its cute. I’m picking up words here and there. I’ll be fluent in Dutch by the time we lift the scudetto lol.

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:10 pm

            Lol yeah that dog is pretty critic. He checks things humans don’t even check. I’ve just seen it a zillion times already 🙁

            Succes. Dan gaan wij een gesprek in het nederlands houden. Ik heb er nu al zin in! Je zal dit alleen tot het einde van het seizoen niet kunnen lezen xD

          • Avatar
            BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 8:19 pm

            I’m going to hold you on that :p

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 13, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    good match so far.

  • Avatar
    Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 13, 2014 at 7:22 pm

    I missed a good bunch of the first half, but so far pereyra is impressive. I thought he was Vidal this whole time.

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:23 pm

      I’d have thought that if i didn’t know better. He looks alot like him from up above.

    • Avatar
      LMJuveDK September 13, 2014 at 7:23 pm

      haha.. me too.. he looks just like him

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 7:37 pm

      Except for shooting yeah, pretty good

    • Avatar
      RUDY ARIS September 13, 2014 at 7:46 pm

      Pereyra covers so much ground that for a bit I thought he and Vidal were playing lol.

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:05 pm

        You should twitter this to him, he’ll feel honoured.

        • Avatar
          JuventusBuffon September 13, 2014 at 8:11 pm

          Lol Tweet?

          • Avatar
            DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:14 pm

            Oops yeah. I don’t use twitter.

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 13, 2014 at 8:13 pm

        He really does. I would love to see him and Vidal play together

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:24 pm

    Where is Coman?

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      I hope he gets subbed in around the 60th minute, for Tevez maybe, no need to take more risks with CL match so close

      • Avatar
        DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:43 pm

        I wonder if Coman will play in CL or will it just be Tevez and Llorente.

  • Avatar
    EriJuve7 September 13, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    Ogbonna has looked pretty solid lately… Maybe there’s a place for him after all

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 7:29 pm

      For as long as Chiellini is out, yes.

    • Avatar
      BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 7:39 pm

      Doing well indeed! Not too shaky

    • Avatar
      RUDY ARIS September 13, 2014 at 7:46 pm

      I have to give it to Ogbonna today, and Caceres is doing an awesome job as well.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    Was that Vidal’s girlfriend or just a hot girl sitting next to him?

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 8:32 pm

      fit as!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Avatar
    JuventusBuffon September 13, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    Marchisiooooooooo che golazoooo!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    CLAUDIOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HELL YEAH

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Now that was a good goal

  • Avatar
    LMJuveDK September 13, 2014 at 8:26 pm

    Padoin… really!!

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Padoin time! Allegri proves it’s not just Conte.

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    How is Padoin getting game time yet again, is he bribing the whole juve staff or something?

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:31 pm

      My theory is that he is an evil wizard who hypnotizes the coach in letting him play a fair amount of minutes per season. What you said it possible too :p

      • Avatar
        Papilaya(John)™★★★ September 13, 2014 at 11:33 pm

        I think hes an elf. Everybody loves elves and thats probably how he gets minutes

        • Avatar
          DutchJuve September 14, 2014 at 12:39 pm

          Everyone does, but does Allegri? I’ve come to notice that he isn’t like most people.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Morata coming on!

  • Avatar
    BelgianJuventino September 13, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Yeah Morata time, for as long as it is

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    We look strong….real strong!…early days,but strong.

  • Avatar
    DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    He almost scored lol.

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    Morata gol ale

  • Avatar
    dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    JUVE…UN STORIA DI GRANDE AMORE

  • Avatar
    tpick September 13, 2014 at 8:36 pm

    Good game all around… minus padoin. Allegri needs to make subs faster, Coman and Morata shouldve come on sooner.

    • Avatar
      dinodelfino September 13, 2014 at 8:40 pm

      I agree,coman should of got longer,morata will make HIGUAIN a has been….he will smash it for us

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 13, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    RATE THE PLAYERS IS BACK !!!!
    ———————————————-

    https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1gFUL7WK39pou-4rLiSD0O0nzpb9W4kpltld1rmUJZ-A/viewform

    GET VOTING – sEND IT TO EVERYONE (WHO WATCHED THE GAME)

    • Avatar
      DutchJuve September 13, 2014 at 9:28 pm

      Done. Lowest score i gave was a 6. How come i can’t rate a Juve player lower than 6? :p

      • Avatar
        Moderator September 13, 2014 at 9:51 pm

        selective memory 😉

  • Avatar
    Moderator September 13, 2014 at 10:51 pm

    Switch over to the match review: https://www.juvefc.com/post-match-review-juventus-2-0-udinese/